Home > Katy's Korner > The Gossip Web by Chelsea Lynn Charters

The Gossip Web by Chelsea Lynn Charters

September 10, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

The Gossip Web
by Chelsea Lynn Charters

The Gossip Web

By: Chelsea Lynn Charters

Release Date: July 31, 2012

Rating: 2 stars

Summary: Jade Cannon’s life is a mess. She’s the laughing stock of West Havenbrook High, and is hopelessly in love with Trace Gibson, the boy every girl dreams about—but that’s not the worst part. Her father is dating a beautiful young woman named Erika, whom Jade is convinced is after his money.

Nothing seems to be going Jade’s way….Not after Trace asks her to the dance, or even when he claims his undying love for her. As Jade struggles with her fears and her innermost desires, she eventually realizes that the only true obstacle standing in the way of her happiness is herself.

 

Review: I’m a sucker for cliche but cute romantic comedies, and I think this books truly had potential to be just that.

But the one thing that really kept me from liking the book was Jade, the main character. She infuriated me with the HUGE chip on her shoulder and her CONSTANT hot/cold attitude. Don’t get me wrong, I totally understand where she’s coming from. To be bullied like that in school, every day for years, would suck the life out of everyone. But I had expected her to be a scared, insecure mouse that found the strength to fight back. Not the dramatic, moody, bitchy psycho that jumps down someone’s throat at every single thing – whether good or bad.

The book’s saving grace was Trace. What a sweet, sweet guy. What a big dummy (an adorable one) to put up with such drama – from Gloria and from Jade. He was always there for Jade, no matter how badly she treated him the day before. And to go through with it over and over again. Sigh, I need to find myself a guy like that.

Having said that, I don’t mind a book being cliche if it’s at least entertaining. In this case, I think Gloria was a bit too over the top, and the whole gossip web was a bit too extreme. I think if Charters had toned it down just a bit, it would make for a more realistic high school situation.

I am interested to see Charters’ other works and any future works since her debut young adult novel was clearly written to elicit strong emotions from readers. I just wish I connected to the main character more, and in this case, she just gave me a major headache and several bald spots from having to pull my hair out.

Note: I was given a copy of book in exchange for my honest review. A special thanks to the author for offering me the opportunity to read this book.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

