Home > Mitch's Musings > 2012 – Summer in Review

2012 – Summer in Review

September 15, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Hey again! With September now firmly upon us, I thought I’d do a retrospective of my most memorable reading moments from June through August. Here’s some of my favorites this summer, along with one guilty pleasure and some books to stay away from. How many great books have you read?

Summer Favorites

The Lost Girl
by Sangu Mandanna

The Lost Girl by Sangu Mandanna

Release Date: August 28, 2012

Recommended For: Everyone!

What I Said Then: Holy crap! Simply amazing!

My Thoughts Now: I stand by my previous sentiments, if there’s a must read book of the summer, The Lost Girl is it. If you haven’t read the book, stop reading this retrospective and go read it.

Read my review.

s

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2)
by Richelle Mead

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2) by Richelle Mead

Release Date: June 12, 2012

Recommended For: Fans of Paranormal Fantasy

What I Said Then: Sydney is awesome.

My Thoughts Now: Sydney is probably the only reason I like Bloodlines as much as I do. I know a lot of people are hesitant to give Bloodlines a try, but in a glut of young adult books, Richelle Mead’s still stand out.

Read my review.

s

Something Strange and Deadly
by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Release Date: July 24, 2012

Recommended For: Steampunk Fans

What I Said Then: Predictable but a lot of fun.

My Thoughts Now: Yeah, the plot’s still completely predictable, but the characters are so much fun, if steampunk and zombies sound interesting definitely give this a try.

Read my review.

s

The Venetian Contract
by Marina Fiorato

The Venetian Contract by Marina Fiorato

Release Date: June 21, 2012

Recommended For: Historical Fiction Fans

What I Said Then: An interesting look at sixteenth century Venice.

My Thoughts Now: Historical fiction probably sounds dull to a lot of people, but this is definitely one of the better ones I’ve read. Even if history sounds boring, there are plague doctors. In creepy bird costumes

Read my review.

s

The Triumph of Death (Alex Van Helsing #3)
by Jason Henderson

The Triumph of Death (Alex Van Helsing #3) by Jason Henderson

Release Date: July 24, 2012

Recommended For: Vampire Action Enthusiasts

What I Said Then: Creatively the best of the series.

My Thoughts Now: This is probably the only one of my favorites I’d hesitate to recommend. Not because it’s not good, it’s excellent, but it’s part teen actioner and part historical mystery. An odd mix, definitely, but completely addictive.

Read my review.

s

Guilty Pleasure

The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl #8)
by Eoin Colfer

The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl #8) by Eoin Colfer

Release Date: July 10, 2012

Recommended For: Anyone Looking for Something a Little (Ok, a Lot) Silly

What I Said Then: I probably wouldn’t have liked this so much if it wasn’t the last Artemis Fowl.

My Thoughts Now: I don’t think anyone who reads the series straight through will think this book is any good, honestly. Much of the plot’s nonsensical at best. But it’s a guilty pleasure because I’ve been following this series for a decade, and it’s always tough when such a series ends.

Read my review.

s

Biggest Disappointment

Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2)
by Kendare Blake

Girl of Nightmares (Anna #2) by Kendare Blake

Release Date: August 7, 2012

Recommended For: Fans of the First Book, Maybe

What I Said Then: Almost a total letdown.

My Thoughts Now: I’ve considering lowering my rating of this book several times. But every time, I have to be honest, I really did like the ending. So still a grudgingly ‘like’ overall.

Read my review.

s

Least Satisfying Read

The Shapeshifter’s Secret
by Heather Ostler

The Shapeshifter’s Secret by Heather Ostler

Release Date: June 12, 2012

Recommended For: Masochists

What I Said Then: Like a bad Harry Potter knockoff.

My Thoughts Now: I know what you’re thinking. Really, there’s a book worse than Heaven (Halo #3) by Alexandra Adornetto?!? Yep. Only for the VERY curious.

Read my review.

s

Categories: Mitch's Musings Tags: ,
  1. September 15, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    for me the two best summer releases were the lost girl and lucky fools
    i also really liked origins and defiance.
    the biggest disappointment was definitely girl of nightmares expected way way more of that book.

    • September 15, 2012 at 7:18 pm

      I would’ve put Lucky Fools as my 6th book 😉 Origins really wasn’t my thing, and you know how I feel about Defiance. Great list

  2. September 15, 2012 at 6:55 pm

    I loooved The Lost Girl and Something Strange and Deadly, so those two along with Seraphina and The Dark Light are probably my summer favorites! 🙂 I still have to read Anna Dressed in Blood and Bloodlines (which I AM very skeptical about), but since you enjoyed both these series I think I’ll give it a shot. Wonderful post! 😀

    • September 15, 2012 at 7:26 pm

      Huh, I haven’t even heard of The Dark Light, but it does sound interesting … although that cover, I don’t know. Maybe a brown paper bag to cover it or something.

      You’re right to be skeptical of Bloodlines, Sydney is VERY different from Rose, but I’m the kind of guy that likes her kind of character. I do hope you like it.

  3. Navs
    September 16, 2012 at 3:47 am

    Ohmygod Mitch! Where is Onyx? The melodrama it followed had me convinced it would make the list.
    Since we’re talking about Summer faves, mine would be:
    Unwholly-Neal Shusterman, Froi of the Exiles-Melina Marchetta, Code Name Verity-Elizabeth Wein and Touch of Power by Maria V. Snyder.

    • September 17, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Yeah, I’ve been trying to FORGET about Onyx. Why don’t you read it and tell me where it belongs? :p

      • Navs
        September 17, 2012 at 1:47 pm

        What if I end up liking it? Do you really want another person fangirling about Daemon? Or threatening you to read the next book?

        • September 17, 2012 at 2:11 pm

          Why not, what’s one more? And maybe I’ll get to have fun at your reaction for a change 😀

          • Navs
            September 17, 2012 at 2:15 pm

            You’re an evil man, Mitch. I see what you’re doing. xP

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

