Home > Katy's Korner > Covet by Melissa Darnell

Covet by Melissa Darnell

September 26, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Covet
by Melissa Darnell

Covet (The Clann 2)

By: Melissa Darnell

Release Date: September 25, 2012

Rating: 2 stars

Summary:Dangerous to be together. Painful to be apart.Savannah Colbert knows she broke up with Tristan Coleman for the right reasons. Most of all, to keep from killing him with her new vampire abilities. But try telling her heart. Now, lost in a sea of hostile Clann faces, Sav tries to come to terms with what she’s becoming and what that means for her future. And that someone is doing their best to bully her into making a terrible mistake.

Tristan can’t believe Sav won’t even talk to him. If being apart is her decision, fine. Just don’t expect him to honor it. But even as he prepares to fight for the girl he loves, forces beyond their control take them both in directions neither could have foreseen or prepared for.

A reckoning is coming…and not everyone will survive.

 

Review: The first few chapters sucked me in and really broke my heart. After that, I alternated between annoyed and pissed. I loved Savannah and Tristan in Book 1, but here, they were so pathetically whiny. This book felt long, and it just got more depressing and irritating the further I went. The only exciting part was the last two chapters, but even then, that was predictable.

I guess I use to be a nicer person. Because the whole I-love-you-and-I-want-to-be-with-you-but-I-can’t-so-I’m-going-to-sacrifice-our-love-and-stay-away-from-you thing was really grating on my nerves. Yes, I know that was the situation in Book 1, and I ate it up. But they were starting to figure it out, and even though the first book left us with a cliffhanger, I was hoping it would be resolved by now. I’m not sure how much more I can stomach.

But what I was guess was most irritating was the introduction of possible triangles and rectangles and however many sides you want to add the polygon. I mean, I know that Tristan isn’t interested in Bethany, but come on, HOW DENSE can the boy be? And instead of being protective, he came across very possessive. And Ron? Darnell just kills me with what a possible mess this can be, especially with Anne.

And there were just little things that really bugged me. Does anyone else find it extremely weird that Sav’s FATHER is the one giving her a makeover? I know that he’s some super badass vampire, and she’s a girl who doesn’t really care about her appearance, and it’s HIS money, but still. The book points out the absurdity of him picking out clothes for her and giving her an ultimatum, but I don’t know about that one. And some of the scenes were just plain ridiculous like the demon dog or Savannah’s reaction to her first encounter with a Keeper. Oh, the stupid things that came out of her mouth. I wanted to smack her.

And the story was really cheesy, really cliche, and really predictable. The high school drama and the fight with the jocks, Ron and his secret, Emily’s sickness, the one behind it all at the end. There wasn’t anything that surprised me, and I was more than ready for the book to end. Now, I just have to decide if I want to continue the series, and I’ll just have to see.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. September 27, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    HAHAHAHAHAHA…. I HATE that love stuff you’re talking about. Hence there’s a stall in my readings cause I can’t stand it anymore. Hehe it seems like you are on a 2 star streak…

    • Katy
      September 28, 2012 at 10:57 am

      I know… It’s rather disappointing… 😦
      In my defense, it’s actually a two- and three-star streak. 😛

  2. October 2, 2012 at 10:25 pm

    I knew I should have ignored this review until after I read it! UHHGGG!

    • Katy
      October 2, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      LOL, the two star rating didn’t give you a hint? 😉

      • October 3, 2012 at 11:23 am

        I didn’t even see the dang 2 star rating lol;!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

