Home > Katy's Korner > Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone

September 28, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Time Between Us
by Tamara Ireland Stone

Time Between Us

By: Tamara Ireland Stone

Release Date: October 9, 2012

Rating: 1 star

Summary: Anna and Bennett were never supposed to meet: she lives in 1995 Chicago and he lives in 2012 San Francisco. But Bennett has the unique ability to travel through time and space, which brings him into Anna’s life, and with him a new world of adventure and possibility.

As their relationship deepens, the two face the reality that time may knock Bennett back to where he belongs, even as a devastating crisis throws everything they believe into question. Against a ticking clock, Anna and Bennett are forced to ask themselves how far they can push the bounds of fate, what consequences they can bear in order to stay together, and whether their love can stand the test of time.

 

Review: This book received SO many raving reviews, and I feel like I’m the odd one out. But to sum it all up, I just didn’t get it. I think this book had a lot of potential, but there were just too many holes and inconsistencies.

Out of all the young adult time travel books I have read, I think this book impressed me the least. And you know that a book is unmemorable when you sit down to write a review a few days later, and you have already forgotten a lot of what you have read.

Since I’m not sure how much I can explain without making the whole review spoiler-free, so HERE IS YOUR SPOILER ALERT!

I’m not sure how I feel about Stone’s concept of writing the time travel range to be within Bennett’s life span. On one hand, it’s more realistic, well, as real as time travel can be. But on the other hand, it kind of defeats the whole wonder of the concept because history can be so interesting. So since we can’t live in history, we have to rely on the story that is taking place.

To me, the storyline was just meh. Neither Anna nor Bennett were really exceptional. They were kind of bland, and the romance wasn’t one of those that just totally sucked me in. On a side note, neither one had great relationships with family or best friends that made the side stories interesting. I can see how Stone attempted to show us the consequences of changes, but those side stories just made me dislike Anna for how selfish and bratty she can be.

So going back to the story, there were so many holes in book that I just don’t see how everything added up. What’s so special about Bennett, and why does he time travel (obviously NOT hereditary)? I don’t understand what happened to his sister. How did he “lose” her and how is he supposed to “wait” for her? Also, what were the consequences of Bennett helping his father?

And the biggest question of all… Okay, so Bennett is actually 17 in 2012, and he is a baby in Anna’s time period. So I’m guessing he disappears from 2012 when he time travels? Okay, so there are two parallels? So the big question is, at one point, there is ANOTHER Bennett that shows up. So I’m guessing there is Baby Bennett, the Bennett Anna is in love with and the future Bennett all in one time period? So does that mean there is yet ANOTHER parallel universe? How many are there?

And I see NO way that Anna and Bennett can live happily ever after. Like I said, I’m still not sure if Bennett disappears from his time period or not. So he comes back. Yes, they solve the whole Anna taking her trip situation. But what about future events? There are no consequences from this time? How in the world is he supposed to stay with her?

Books like “The Mediator” by Jenny Carroll/Meg Cabot (yes, it was cliché, but it was cute) and “The Clearing” by Heather Davis (I was actually moved by this one) made an impression on me. And I’ve never read “The Time Traveler’s Wife,” but I’ve watched the movie.

With this book, the basic story was too bland, and the overall concept made no sense for me to enjoy it.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. September 29, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    oh i was wondering how the book was… and seeing that you only rated it with one star put me right off it.
    Havent read past spoiler alert yet though.. do you think i would like the book? – or should i just forget about it and read your spoilers?

    • Katy
      September 29, 2012 at 8:54 pm

      Well my GR friends all gave 4- and 5-star reviews – even some of the toughest critics – so you may want to try it out anyway. But my spoilers will tell you why I gave it 1 star, but then again, it’ll ruin the book for you if you read it first.

  2. September 30, 2012 at 2:10 pm

    I gave it a three star… I liked the side stories that’s what saved it for me. And the fact that it read more as contemporary for me… rather than science fiction or fantasy, which if it did read as sci-fi or fantasy, it would have completely flopped for sure… The thing is I have yet to see a heavily focused time travel story that works… in any genre or sub genre… either they fail to explain what happens or just completely ignores the issue of time. Because of that, the time thing was weighed less in my review, but your points are very valid. But then again, that’s something that is still debated… the whole time paradoxes… within the scientific realm too and thus something the author (or any author) couldn’t answer for sure… There was this documentary I watched (which I remembered having Stephan Hawkings in it but could be wrong) about time travel and time paradoxes… it got completely confusing very fast…

    But I would agree the romance is nothing special and the characters are very normal. Hence contemporary with a slight tough of sci-fi dust…

    • Katy
      September 30, 2012 at 5:47 pm

      Yeah, I basically read it as a contemporary young adult romance. It was just that it made little sense that I couldn’t enjoy the rest of the story. But then again, the rest of the story was just meh. I think if it hadn’t been for the beach scene at the ended with the trip and not the beach scene, I would have given it two stars – maybe even three.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

