Home > Katy's Korner > Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Alice in Zombieland
by Gena Showalter

Alice in Zombieland (White Rabbit Chronicles 1)

By: Gena Showalter

Release Date: September 25, 2012

Rating: 1 star

Summary: She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies…

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish.

 

Review: My Goodread friends have either really, really liked this book or really, really hated it. Now, I know why, and I have so many things to say about it – and not good ones.

First of all, I thought this book was going to be a parody of Alice in Wonderland or have some kind of parallelism or allusion to it, but the only things that lined up were a character named Alice and the mention of a white rabbit – in this book, it was the stupid clouds. So yeah, not much correlation to Alice in Wonderland. 

Now where to go from here. This book was like watching a scary movie where the characters are just heading towards trouble, and you’re yelling, “Stop! Don’t go any further! Turn back!” Yet, they still run straight into it, KNOWING nothing good can come out of it. In fact, Alice even referred to it as a scary movie. Why would go you go outside Alice? Please, tell me why? Stop! Abort! Abort!

And the concept had potential, but nothing was ever explained. (View spoiler on my Goodreads.) I know that Showalter plans to keep things for the sequel, but a book is incomplete when you don’t even BEGIN to explain things.

On a side note, I’m not opposed to instalove, but in this book, it was just downright ridiculous and corny. The meeting of the eyes and immediately physical effects, the tunnel-visions, all of it. And (View spoiler on my Goodreads.And the hot-cold relationship that they have? I’m all for bickering that gets you a bit riled up, but in this book, it was just annoying because they were such an ass/bitch, and it was built on drama, not chemistry. And while Alice tells Cole to go away, she’s silently praying, “Please. Want me.” Ugh! Their conversations were either frustrating or sickeningly corny.

Come to think of it, the whole book was pretty irritating to read. I think Showalter tried TOO hard to make this book “smart” if you know what I mean. I was overloaded with the “Pretty Kitty” and “Mad Dog” or play on words like “pain in the neck” when referring to the sword knick. Try answering someone asking you how you’re doing with a “I’m so good, I should be illegal.” Too much. Just too much.

There were annoying characters. All of them were, but the two I could not stand were Alice and Kat. Alice was such a bitch. I understand being sassy and being a smart-mouth, but her character was written to the point where she was just snarky and downright rude. (View spoiler on my Goodreads.)

And Kat? Who goes and tells someone they just met all about their dramatic relationship and sex life? She’s dramatic and obnoxious. She’s nosy and interfering. And her attempt to be such a badass was irritating. And what was up with her surprise? Can we be more cliche? Why? Why did you have to do that? Sometimes, annoying best friends can be written to where they are charming, but Kat was just too much.

I know Showalter is a great writer, and I respect her and her works. But with this one, I just couldn’t. I didn’t just “not like” this book. I found it irritating and just really, really bad – and for me, it wasn’t a “so bad it was good” type of book.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

