Home > Katy's Korner > There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones

There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones

There You’ll Find Me
by Jenny B. Jones

There You’ll Find Me

By: Jenny B. Jones

Release Date: October 4, 2011

Rating: 2 stars

Summary:Grief brought Finley to Ireland. Love will lead her home.Finley Sinclair is not your typical eighteen-year-old. She’s witty, tough, and driven. With an upcoming interview at the Manhattan music conservatory, Finley needs to compose her audition piece. But her creativity disappeared with the death of her older brother, Will.

She decides to study abroad in Ireland so she can follow Will’s travel journal. It’s the place he felt closest to God, and she’s hopeful being there will help her make peace over losing him. So she agrees to an exchange program and boards the plane.

Beckett Rush, teen heartthrob and Hollywood bad boy, is flying to Ireland to finish filming his latest vampire movie. On the flight, he meets Finley. She’s the one girl who seems immune to his charm. Undeterred, Beckett convinces her to be his assistant in exchange for his help as a tour guide.

Once in Ireland, Finley starts to break down. The loss of her brother and the pressure of school, her audition, and whatever it is that is happening between her and Beckett, leads her to a new and dangerous vice. When is God going to show up for her in this emerald paradise?

Then she experiences something that radically changes her perspective on life. Could it be God convincing her that everything she’s been looking for has been with her all along?

 

Review: I thought this was going to be a heart-warming story, but I wasn’t crazy about it at all.

First of all, I could not stand Finley. The book description said she was “witty, tough and driven,” but I thought she was snobby and bitchy. She had this “been there, done that” attitude, and she was so quick to judge people by stereotypes and label them as a certain type. She did that with Beckett. She did that with Beatrice. She did that with Taylor and the actress types. And she did that with Mrs. Sweeney.

With Beckett, the situation was just SO obvious that I cannot believe she could not see it all along – especially considering that she was an American heiress who has lived that life before. How could she be so blind? But of course not. She thought she had it all figured out.

Which brings me to the next point of a little inconsistency. I’m not sure why Jones decided to write her as someone famous because I think I would have had more sympathy for her if she had been a nobody. I would have understood why she would be cautious if she had been naive and didn’t want to be hurt by a bad boy heartthrob. And if she’s been groomed in the limelight, why is she a size 9? I mean, I know she’s not a Paris Hilton or anything, but it’s really hard to imagine Finley as a person who used to be in the tabloids all the time. If she had been heavier than your average size 2 famous person, I’m sure the tabloids would have picked on her already.

And her condition? I just felt Jones tried to jam pack too many heavy situations into one book.

The only reason why I’m giving this book 2 stars instead of 1 is because of Mrs. Sweeney’s story. On one hand, I do think it was just one more thing that Jones added to the heavy, emotionally-tugging, sympathy card. But on the other hand, I liked the story. I think it did a lot more to the Christian concept and finding God than Finley’s story.

Overall, I think this could have been a heart-warming story. But I think if Finley had been written a bit differently, I would have liked her a lot more and liked the book a lot more.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. October 11, 2012 at 5:27 am

    Actually, when I read this book about 2 weeks ago, I absolutely loved it!! But then again, I am a big sucker for romance. However, I understand where you’re coming from with Finley and a little too many ideas.

  2. Katy
    October 11, 2012 at 10:02 am

    I’m a sucker for cliche romantic comedies too as long as they’re cute and entertaining. It’s been a while since I’ve read her Charmed Life series, and I remember liking it. With this book, I just thought the main character was too snobby and witchy for me to like her. I’m glad you liked it though, and this book isn’t going to keep me from trying out her other books.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

