Home > Katy's Korner > Velveteen by Daniel Marks

Velveteen by Daniel Marks

Velveteen
by Daniel Marks

Velveteen

By: Daniel Marks

Release Date: October 9, 2012

Rating: 4.5 stars

Summary:Velveteen Monroe is dead. At 16, she was kidnapped and murdered by a madman named Bonesaw. But that’s not the problem.The problem is she landed in purgatory. And while it’s not a fiery inferno, it’s certainly no heaven. It’s gray, ashen, and crumbling more and more by the day, and everyone has a job to do. Which doesn’t leave Velveteen much time to do anything about what’s really on her mind.

Bonesaw.

Velveteen aches to deliver the bloody punishment her killer deserves. And she’s figured out just how to do it. She’ll haunt him for the rest of his days.

It’ll be brutal… and awesome.

But crossing the divide between the living and the dead has devastating consequences. Velveteen’s obsessive haunting cracks the foundations of purgatory and jeopardizes her very soul. A risk she’s willing to take—except fate has just given her reason to stick around: an unreasonably hot and completely off-limits coworker.

Velveteen can’t help herself when it comes to breaking rules… or getting revenge. And she just might be angry enough to take everyone down with her.

 

Review: This book was long, and I wouldn’t say this book was absolutely mind-blowing, but the writing as truly amazing. It was really sick an twisted, so disgustingly graphic, so mentally chilling – not usually my type of thing, but I was totally diggin’ it. Just to give you a taste of what you would be reading: (view spoiler on my Goodreads) Was that so gross that it was freakin’ awesome or what?

Chapter 1 had me hooked as I got a glimpse of the twisted world of Bonesaw. But then the book lost me for several chapters as it began going down a different direction. Marks is VERY descriptive in setting up the scene, but I didn’t see why he spent so much time setting up Purgatory when it didn’t have much to do with Bonesaw. Perhaps chapter 1 may have been better as a prologue. But right about chapter 8 was when the story went back on track (at least according to the summary), and the rest of the book for me was a pretty smooth ride.

I’m not sure how I feel that most of the book was about Purgatory instead of Bonesaw. Still, the book had some action as Velvet make a few visits back to Bonesaw and as Purgatory saw the rise of the revolution – as well as some romance scenes. Yes, it was one of those “I like you but I shouldn’t be with you” type of romances, but it wasn’t the dragged-out “c’mon let’s get on with it already” kinds. I found Velvet and Nick’s bickering and flings to be quite hilarious. A preview: (view spoiler on my Goodreads)

I was impressed with Marks’ ability to write a girl’s point of view. Man is Velvet a kickass bitch. But whereas some authors’ writing would make me hate the main characters or be extremely annoyed by them, I found Velvet’s bitchiness to be “part of her charm.”

I did have a complaint about Nick, and that was I resented Marks for making him too girly at the beginning. I know he was going through a lot, and I’m not opposed to a guy getting in touch with his feminine side and shedding a few tears, but I was kind of annoyed with Nick at first. Thankfully, he made up for it pretty quick and I liked his cocky yet sweet attitude.

I also like each of Velvet’s sidekicks, and I’m so glad Marks did not make Kipper out to be the stereotypical flamboyant gay friend. I think he was actually my second favorite supporting character, right after Quenton, who is absolutely hilarious.

Overall, the book was a great read. It may not have been mind-blowing, but I think Marks is a truly talented writer, and I’m anxious to read the sequel and any future projects he may have.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

