Home > Katy's Korner > Who I Kissed by Janet Gurtler

Who I Kissed by Janet Gurtler

Who I Kissed
by Janet Gurtler

Who I Kissed

By: Janet Gurtler

Release Date: October 1, 2012

Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary: She never thought a kiss could kill…
Samantha didn’t mean to hurt anyone. She was just trying to fit in…and she wanted to make Zee a little jealous after he completely ditched her for a prettier girl. So she kissed Alex. And then he died—right in her arms.
Was she really the only person in the entire school who didn’t know about his peanut allergy? Or that eating a peanut butter sandwich and then kissing him would be deadly? Overnight Sam turns into the school pariah and a media sensation explodes. Consumed with guilt, abandoned by her friends, and in jeopardy of losing her swimming scholarship, she’ll have to find a way to forgive herself before anyone else will.

 

Review: I liked this book. I thought it had a lot of potential, telling the story of a new, insecure girl who made a poor choice one night and ended up having to deal with some serious consequences.

I really liked Sam. What happened was truly tragic and probably pretty traumatic, especially in situations with so many “what ifs.” I honestly sympathized with what she was going through – her own guilty, the way the kids treated her at school, how she learned to heal. What I liked most about this book was Gurtler had a way of making Sam not overly depressing, but at the same time, make us connect with her.

However, I also felt there were too many things that were weird about the book.

First of all, I think it was awfully busy with a bit too much drama put into book, such as her mother’s illness and death or the whole Theresa situation. Which brings me to the relationship she had with her father and her aunt. While I’m glad she has such a close and open relationship. I mean who tells their dad (spoiler – go to my Goodreads). A normal dad would probably be waving a shotgun at his daughter’s date rather than be so cool about it. It was just weird things like that that throws the story off and make it not so realistic.

And when reading the author’s note about why Gurtler had decided to write this book, I was kind of disappointed that promoting peanut allergy awareness was not more prominent in the book. I’m not saying bog down the story with facts. But it didn’t seem to have a major role in the book except for the reason why Alex died and a tiny bit of information about what Sam wanted to do to help at the end.

Overall, it’s an enjoyable book. A quick, almost light read considering the subject. Now I have to go get some Jelly Belly, courtesy of Zee planting the thought in my head.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. Ornella
    October 13, 2012 at 11:53 pm

    Katy! I can’t click on the spoiler! xD

  2. Katy
    October 14, 2012 at 12:09 am

    Oops! It’s supposed to go to my goodreads anyway since there’s no way to hide spoilers here. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

