Home > Katy's Korner > What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

What’s Left of Me by Kat Zhang

What’s Left of Me
Kat Zhang

What’s Left of Me (The Hybrid Chronicles 1)

By: Kat Zhang

Release Date: September 18, 2012

Rating: 4.5 stars

Summary: I should not exist. But I do.

Eva and Addie started out the same way as everyone else—two souls woven together in one body, taking turns controlling their movements as they learned how to walk, how to sing, how to dance. But as they grew, so did the worried whispers. Why aren’t they settling? Why isn’t one of them fading? The doctors ran tests, the neighbors shied away, and their parents begged for more time. Finally Addie was pronounced healthy and Eva was declared gone. Except, she wasn’t . . .

For the past three years, Eva has clung to the remnants of her life. Only Addie knows she’s still there, trapped inside their body. Then one day, they discover there may be a way for Eva to move again. The risks are unimaginable-hybrids are considered a threat to society, so if they are caught, Addie and Eva will be locked away with the others. And yet . . . for a chance to smile, to twirl, to speak, Eva will do anything.

 

Review: ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! My half-star complaint is for the somewhat anticlimactic end (see below).

Why did I love this book so much? Because the concept was actually mind-blowing. To be born with two souls and to become the dominant soul and to have the other naturally fade away – I can’t even imagine how it feels to lose a part of myself like that. The prologue had me hooked, and the rest of the story sure didn’t disappoint.

But what made the book so great was that Zhang let Eva be the narrator, even though she was the recessive soul. To let herself just fade into the background but never totally fade away is so heartbreaking, knowing you could never BE. But instead of feeling resentment, Eva supported Addie in places where Addie fell short – but with reminders and words of encouragement rather than taking action. The bond that Addie and Eva have and the dialogue that goes on between them is just indescribable. Zhang did a truly amazing job putting readers there, making us sympathize with both Addie and Eva. Both girls had their strengths and their weaknesses, and they compliment each other very well.

I’m really curious to see what direction Zhang plans to take this series. Of course, readers would naturally want things to work out with Addie and Eva where both will be able to have their time in their body. But we already see how different the two are and how this can cause a problem in their future if they were both to survive (spoiler – see my review on Goodreads) Jackson gives us a hint, but you’re left to wonder if both girls can truly be happy and how certain arrangement will be made.

And for those, like me, who have to have romance in their books, don’t expect too much of it in this one. There is a love interest, but there’s not much, and when there is, it’s pretty subtle. But it actually didn’t bother me in this book.

But Zhang did a good job pacing the book, first sucking us in by the intriguing concept and later keeping us on the edge with anticipation about what’s going to happen next.

My half-star criticism is I felt the end was a bit anticlimactic. The ironic thing is I had made a comment that I would be pissed if this book ended with a cliff hanger. And it didn’t. So what’s my problem? I’m not sure, but I felt something was just missing. (spoiler – see my review on Goodreads) I guess if this book wasn’t a start of a series, I would be perfectly happy with how things were packaged at the end. But I can’t wait to see what Zhang has in stored for the sequel.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. October 14, 2012 at 2:25 pm

    Brilliant review, Katy. I thought this book was well-paced too. I can’t wait for the next one! 🙂

  2. Katy
    October 14, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    Me either!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

