Home > Katy's Korner > The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

The Assassin’s Curse by Cassandra Rose Clarke

The Assassin’s Curse
by Cassandra Rose Clarke

The Assassin’s Curse

By: Cassandra Rose Clarke

Release Date: October 2, 2012

Rating: 2.5 stars

Summary:Ananna of the Tanarau abandons ship when her parents try to marry her off to an allying pirate clan: she wants to captain her own boat, not serve as second-in-command to her handsome yet clueless fiance. But her escape has dire consequences when she learns the scorned clan has sent an assassin after her.And when the assassin, Naji, finally catches up with her, things get even worse. Ananna inadvertently triggers a nasty curse — with a life-altering result. Now Ananna and Naji are forced to become uneasy allies as they work together to break the curse and return their lives back to normal. Or at least as normal as the lives of a pirate and an assassin can be.

 

Review: UGH! You stupid, stupid man! How could you… Why can’t you… GAH!

This book was everything I could want in a YA fantasy. A feisty, independent female pirate (cool!). A hot, mysterious assassin (swoon!). Adventures over land AND sea (awesome!). Unfortunately, it was not. The book wasn’t bad. It just didn’t suck me in and left me feeling meh.

The story had a lot of potential. But I felt there were too many things that Clarke skimmed over the surface to. The book starts out with Ananna being presented to her betrothed and her running away. I didn’t feel Clarke gave us enough of a reason why she didn’t want to marry Tarrin other than he was too beautiful and she wanted to be independent. And then (RED FLAG! MAJOR SPOILER ALERT!), (view spoiler) Again, I just wish I knew more about her hatred for him.

Also, the book is littered with references to stories Ananna learned while growing up, but we never get much details on the myths her Papa used to tell her (i.e. near the end, she freaked out about light coming from her, but I didn’t understand what happened). I have the same complaints for lack of details into the Order and in the magic. Why tease something if you’re not going to explain it.

My biggest problem was I didn’t love Ananna and Naji. They infuriated me because they were always fighting with each other – and it wasn’t cute bickering that enhanced their chemistry. They just did too many stupid things and said too many stupid things, and they’re always arguing about something or the other. Ananna wasn’t a bad heroine, but she just wasn’t as kickass as I expected her to be.

And Naji, I’m sorry, but he’s kind of a poor excuse for an assassin and later a weak protector. It seems like Ananna is always trying to save him, and he’s always doing things wrong. And he is just so freaking blind that it makes me want to pull my hair out. It’s kind of disappointing.

But like I said. It’s not a bad book, and there were probably some parts that I liked, enough to bounce between 2 and 3 stars. But overall, I just don’t think this book was anywhere near what I was expecting.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

