Home > Katy's Korner > Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally

Stealing Parker by Miranda Kenneally

Stealing Parker
by Miranda Kenneally

Stealing Parker (Catching Jordan 2)

By: Miranda Kenneally

Release Date: October 1, 2012

Rating: 2 stars

Summary:Red-hot author Miranda Kenneally hits one out of the park in this return to Catching Jordan’s Hundred Oaks High.After her family’s scandal rocks their conservative small town, 17-year-old Parker Shelton goes overboard trying to prove that she won’t turn out like her mother: a lesbian. The all-star third-baseman quits the softball team, drops 20 pounds and starts making out with guys–a lot. But hitting on the hot new assistant baseball coach might be taking it a step too far…especially when he starts flirting back.

Review: One star for the first half, and three stars for the second half.

I thought “Catching Jordan” was cute, heart-warming read, and I just didn’t feel the same about this one because I had a LOT of problems with “Stealing Parker.”

First of all, I really hated the way Parker was portrayed in this book. While I think it breaks from the cliche that she was the valedictorian and the rumored slut at the same time, it was kind of an odd combination, given her situation. She blamed her guy situation and her quitting softball on her mother (which I understand but totally resent that she was so mad at her mom), yet she’s able to keep her grades up. I’m glad, but it makes her character a bit inconsistent. And the other thing is I don’t understand how her mother’s situation would be such a big deal (and I’m stealing from Sophia, but I totally felt the same way before I read her review as I was browsing for reasons to keep reading the book). I understand Christians in a small town would frown upon it, but I think Kenneally kind of went extreme with that one.

The other thing I didn’t like was the whole thing that went on with Brian. (spoiler – go to my Goodreads) I think Kenneally wrote the consequences right in this book, BUT I think she failed in how Parker felt as a result of it. She felt GUILTY! And where was he? That pissed me off.

I really liked Drew in this book, but I also felt that after everything he has been through with Parker – he was there with the whole mother thing and with the whole Laura thing and always offered her a shoulder to cry on – I would have though he would have been more supportive of her situation. I understand he was hurt, but I had expected more from him, knowing everything he knew.

The other good side to this book was Will, who I also loved. He was really sweet, and he was more than understanding the whole time. I don’t blame him for his reaction, yet he still did what he did for her.

Despite everything – my dislikes for Parker and other parts of this book – I’m glad to see how Parker grew as a character – though I’m still wondering how much of this she blamed on God.

I’m sure other people will love this book, as I can see from all the great ratings and raving reviews from my GR friends. This one just wasn’t the book for me. But I’m sure this would be an exception as I’m still very much a Kenneally fan – just not a fan on this book for the particular subjects.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

