Home > Katy's Korner > Unleashed by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié

Unleashed by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié

Unleashed
by Nancy Holder
& Debbie Viguié

Unleashed (Wolf Springs Chronicles 1)

By: Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié

Release Date: November 22, 2011

Rating: 1 star

Summary:Katelyn McBride’s life changed in an instant when her mother died. Uprooted from her California home, Katelyn was shipped to the middle of nowhere, Arkansas, to her only living relative, her grandfather. And now she has to start over in Wolf Springs, a tiny village in the Ozark Mountains. Like any small town, Wolf Springs has secrets. But the secrets hidden here are more sinister than Katelyn could ever imagine. It’s a town with a history that reaches back centuries, spans continents, and conceals terrifying truths. And Katelyn McBride is about to change everything.Broken families, ageless grudges, forced alliances, and love that blooms in the darkest night—welcome to Wolf Springs.

 

Review: This book was so overwritten. While it’s nice to picture the surroundings, the book was so bogged down with details that I just really struggled to get through it. Every little thing was described to the T, and every description was really dragged out like the howling wind or the clicking claws. And there was one detail that just bugged me. (spoiler – go to my Goodreads)

When I wasn’t falling asleep on the imagery, I was annoyed with the characters and their actions. I’m sorry, but when someone says, “Don’t get out of the car for ANY reason,” that means, don’t get out of the damn car – for ANY reason! I just hate it when dumb characters go jumping into the fire. They’re totally asking for it. And the scary scenes? How cliche can you get?

And the relationships in this book. I don’t understand Katelyn’s deal. And I don’t mind instalove, but she has this immediate, deep attraction for two guys. I liked Trick, but I don’t know what his deal is. (spoiler – go to my Goodreads) And I don’t understand Justin’s deal. (spoiler – go to my Goodreads)

Now, I understand the need for building the story for the big reveal, but I didn’t find out what’s going on until the last quarter or so. I mean, yeah, I had an idea of what’s going on because the title was a dead giveaway, and I’ve read enough about (spoiler – go to my Goodreads) to know. But Kaitlyn was left in the dark until the last part of the book. I mean, come on. It was just too frustrating.

And there was a lot that was not answered in the book. I’ve already mentioned my questions about the two boys. But there is so much more I want to know. And even the smaller, almost forgotten details – like Mike’s involvement in the whole thing or even the wolf campers. I have so many, many more, but I’m going to assume that Holder is leaving it for future books. I hope she addresses them all.

The end did leave you in suspense, but I think it just added to my frustration. Overall, I just didn’t think I had a very enjoyable experience reading this book, and I’m curious to know what’s going to happen next, but I’m not sure I can sit through another session if the sequel is going to be anything like the first.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

