Home > Katy's Korner > The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa

The Lost Prince
by Julie Kagawa

The Lost Prince (Call of the Forgotten 1)

By: Julie Kagawa

Release Date: October 23, 2012

Rating: 4 stars

Summary:Don’t look at Them. Never let Them know you can see Them.That is Ethan Chase’s unbreakable rule. Until the fey he avoids at all costs—including his reputation—begin to disappear, and Ethan is attacked. Now he must change the rules to protect his family. To save a girl he never thought he’d dare to fall for.Ethan thought he had protected himself from his older sister’s world—the land of Faery. His previous time in the Iron Realm left him with nothing but fear and disgust for the world Meghan Chase has made her home, a land of myth and talking cats, of magic and seductive enemies. But when destiny comes for Ethan, there is no escape from a danger long, long forgotten.

This novel is one of Julie’s books that will have you demanding for the second one as soon as you finish your read.

 

Review: This book was SO much better than the Iron Fey series, but I just have to knock it down a star for the anticlimactic end. For those who are wondering about my opinion of the Iron Fey series, I really liked the first one. I liked books 2 and 3 enough, and I really didn’t care too much for the last one. I think this book may have surpassed my opinion of The Iron King – sans the disappointingly small role my beloved Puck played in this one.

Again, I have to give Kagawa props for going outside the norm of writing a typical fairy book. The Forgotten – yes, that is the name of the series, and no, I will not explain what they are because I do not want to spoil the book – the whole concept and the story behind them is truly unique. Same goes for the Iron Fey, which is what had me interested in the series in the first place. Totally outside your typical summer and winter, seelie and unseelie courts. And Kagawa has such a talent for not only coming up with such a creative world but also vividly describing it so we are actually there.

First of all, let me just say, I absolutely LOVED Kenzie – like totally adored her. Of course, she just had be a nosy little reporter, which usually annoys the hell out of me, but Kagawa managed to get this one just right. Kenzie is the cute, popular girl in the book, but she is far from your typical queen bee. She has this spunky sass and doesn’t take crap from anyone. And she knows what she wants and how to get it. All without being the whiny pouter or the mean bitch. And she had some totally kickass scenes. She was just an all-around lovable character. The only thing I didn’t like was her “confession” at the end. I was like, “Really?!?” I was a bit irritated that it was just thrown in there like that, and I think it would have been better left out. I think the family issues are enough.

I will say I did not care for Ethan too much in this book. He was a bit too angsty, too much of a jerk for my taste. Don’t get me wrong, I understand that the reason why he’s keeping his distance is because he’s trying to protect everyone. At the same time, there is just this bitterness that just consumes his personality that just leaves a bad taste in my mouth, such as his outburst when seeing his sister for the first time in over a decade.

The saving grace for male characters in this book was Keirran. Although his role is somewhat small, I can see so much potential in him. I will say I think he’s a bit soft in this book with his affection for Annwryl and his lack of firmness toward the Lady. But he is young, and I cannot wait to see what Kagawa has in stored for him.

Along the way, we visit some old characters including Meghan, Ash and my beloved Puck, as well as other mythical creatures such as the clever Grimalkin and the lovable Razor.

My complaint about the book – as I mentioned at the beginning of my review – is the anticlimactic end. Please do not read beyond this part if you have not finished the book, and I’ll try to be vague for those who are moths to a light.

(spoiler – see my review on Goodreads)

Really? That’s it? That’s what we’ve been waiting for this whole time? Kind of a let-down if you ask me.

Still the book leaves it open ended, and with Puck’s comment about Ethan and Keirran reminding him of a pair he used to know, I am definitely interested in what else Kagawa has up her sleeve.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. October 23, 2012 at 3:33 pm

    i really enjoyed this book. would have not even considered it after iron knight. because it nearly ruined the iron fey for me… the iron fey legacies was the savior there and yours and mitches review.

  2. October 23, 2012 at 3:34 pm

    oh and i really liked kenzie as well
    (fangirling!)

    • Katy
      October 23, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      Girls don’t fangirl over girls! I simply admire her (and gush about how great she is). 😛

      • October 28, 2012 at 8:53 am

        i do! 😛

  3. October 24, 2012 at 3:04 am

    Am I the only one who doesn’t adore Kenzie that much? ???

    • Katy
      October 24, 2012 at 9:46 am

      LOL, I don’t think Navs is a fan either. But Kenzie is a lot like me.

      • October 24, 2012 at 12:28 pm

        I could see the resemblance. ;p

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

