Home > Katy's Korner, X Authors and Book Tours X > Goodreads’ New iPhone Ap 2.1 – The Good & The Bad

Goodreads’ New iPhone Ap 2.1 – The Good & The Bad

Goodreads recently announced the release of its 2.1 version for its iPhone ap (see Goodreads’ message). After playing with it for about a week now, I’ve found that it was WAY more user friendly than its previous version. The home page has a more iPhone look to it, with easier access to your profile, news feed updates, friends’ profiles and followed groups, among other things.

BARCODE SCAN

The new ap has a scan feature that allows you to take a picture of the USB to get more information about a book. No, this is NOT a new feature, but it was a separate ap at one time. Combining the two aps into one is a very convenient thing.

And I have a habit of browsing bookstores and taking pictures of covers that I like so I can go home and read up on the ratings or see if my library has it. This ap allows me to pull up the book and get all the information right then and there, and I can easily add it to one of my shelves.

PUSH NOTIFICATIONS

The real kicker is the push notification, which IS a new feature. Before, I had to rely on e-mail notifications, which quite honestly, was NOT very reliable at all. I would get one e-mail and log on to find out I have over 20 notifications. And those of you who check your e-mail on your iPhone know that doing so REALLY drains your battery.

The push notifications allow you know right away that you have new activity, and it tells you what the activity is, whether it’s a like, comment or group update. It also launches the ap automatically so it’s really easy to get to. And of course, you can set it up as an “alert” or a “banner” (see your iPhone “Settings” for  explanations and options).

HOWEVER, I have noticed that if you check your Goodreads on a computer, that little red number on the ap’s icon on your iPhone homepage remains until you open the ap on your iPhone. If you’re OCD like me, that little number is going to bug the HELL out of you. But there’s also not a way to select all and mark all as read on your iPhone e-mails, and I am really bad at updating my aps, so I’m still trying to trying to come to terms with those SUPID little red numbers that’s telling me I have 50 unread e-mails or 20 aps to update.

And I have seen reports that the ap still sends you notifications even though Do Not Disturb is on, although I have not tried this myself.

PERSONAL MESSAGES

While the new version is such a HUGE improvement from the earlier ones, I still have one complaint. Why is there STILL not a way for me to read my personal messages or send them to my friends? Unless I am totally missing it (which if I am, would someone PLEASE point it out to me), I am going to put in a comment to Goodreads.

Until then, I think I am going to be using the ap a lot more now that everything is so much more user-friendly.

  1. Lis
    November 5, 2012 at 12:36 am

    I like this app but for some reason I have troubles with reading the comments. I noticed that sometimes I can’t see new comments, and I think it is when there is more than one page

    • November 7, 2012 at 9:06 pm

      How come I never noticed that before…

  2. November 6, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    I have android phone… And the goodreads app is okay with me. I could read messages and send one to you guys. My only problem is when a certain review (wink at your reviews) have too many comments (I know, we’re at fault. :p) I can’t see it past 50 or so comments. It’s stuck in the reply #50 or something. :/

    • November 6, 2012 at 9:31 pm

      LOL, apparently I don’t read comments here. It’s what Lis was trying to say too. 😛

  3. Lis
    November 8, 2012 at 11:52 am

    Thx you read my replies lex…. :/

  4. November 8, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Lis :
    Thx you read my replies lex…. :/

    lol, I’m sorry. >_<

  5. December 23, 2012 at 10:07 am

    Dear Goodreads iPhone Ap,
    Please get your crap together. What’s the point of using your ap if it always gives me an error about loading. You would think by three (or more) weeks, you would have fixed it by now.
    Sincerely,
    Giving Up On You

  6. July 26, 2013 at 11:57 am

    Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?
    I have a blog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would enjoy your work. If you are
    even remotely interested, feel free to send me an email.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

