Home > Katy's Korner > I Lost My Mobile At the Mall by Wendy Harmer

I Lost My Mobile At the Mall by Wendy Harmer

I Lost My Mobile At the Mall
by Wendy Harmer

I Lost My Mobile At the Mall

By: Wendy Harmer

Release Date: November 2, 2009

Rating: 1 star

Summary: I lost my mobile at the mall and am now facing certain death.
My mother will accuse me of being lazy, ungrateful and plain old stupid. The first death I suffer will be from an utter lack of natural justice. My father will sentence me to die by disappointment. His shoulders will sag and there will be a long escape of air from his chest, as if I’ve crept up behind him and pulled out his plug.As if I deliberately lost my mobile phone to prove to him that there is no God. My best friend will kill me, all because there’s a photo in my mobile of her standing next to Hugh Jackman. I am not an overly dramatic person, but a year’s worth of numbers, texts and photos were in my phone, and if I don’t get them back my life is not worth living.

 

Review: I picked up this book at the library because I am known to have bad phone habits – always losing it or being really bad at picking it up and not responding to texts in a timely manner. And I thought it was a cute cover, and I’ve actually sent a funny picture of myself, making this face as I imitate an iPhone Emoji emoticon.

I was expecting a cute, fun read, probably one on the silly side, but after the first two chapters, I kind of lost interest. And personally, I thought it was kind of ridiculous.

Don’t get me wrong, the two chapters weren’t bad at all, and I actually found myself laughing when Elly decided to Goggle “lost mobile” and found the five steps to follow when someone ripped off your phone. (See my spoiler on Goodreads.)

But what I thought was going to be a funny, witty fluff ended up being over-the-top, immature drama. I’m not talking about Elly’s melodramatic reaction to losing her phone. I would have laughed at that. But the book ended up being more about high school gossip and how it could get out of hand. And really, it was more about the Internet and the so-called “FacePlace” instead of phone gossip.

What I didn’t like the most was the way the book ended. Yes, the girl had what was coming to her, but really, it was that jerk that kind of started everything, and it kind of seemed like he got off scot-free.

And it seemed like everything fell into place too easily for Elly. I mean, after everything she had done, especially with the revenge without finding out the whole truth, she should have been the one who did the approaching and apologizing.

Concerning the gossip, I saw the unsubscribe disclaimer, but I don’t think everyone really learned their lesson in this book. Yes, I know they are teenagers, but I just wished the end result had a bit more impact.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

