Home > Katy's Korner > Rapture (Fallen #4) by Lauren Kate

Rapture (Fallen #4) by Lauren Kate

November 14, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Rapture
by Lauren Kate

Rapture (Fallen #4)

By: Lauren Kate

Release Date: June 12, 2012

Rating: 2 stars

Summary: The sky is dark with wings . . . .

Like sand in an hourglass, time is running out for Luce and Daniel. To stop Lucifer from erasing the past they must find the place where the angels fell to earth. Dark forces are after them, and Daniel doesn’t know if he can do this—live only to lose Luce again and again.

Yet together they will face an epic battle that will end with lifeless bodies . . . and angel dust. Great sacrifices are made. Hearts are destroyed. And suddenly Luce knows what must happen.

For she was meant to be with someone other than Daniel. The curse they’ve borne has always and only been about her—and the love she cast aside. The choice she makes now will be the only one that truly matters.

In the fight for Luce, who will win?

The astonishing conclusion to the FALLEN series. Heaven can’t wait any longer.

 

Review: THAT was the series was about?!?! All the bloodshed, all the heartache, and THAT was the cause of it all?!?! I’m truly flabbergasted! And then to say, (see my spoiler on Goodreads). What. The. Heck?!?! It’s just with all the trouble everyone went through, I was just expecting it to be some apocalyptic battle at the end, and it ended up being an anticlimactic um, agreement? Don’t get me wrong, I’m glad that (see my spoiler on Goodreads), but at the same time, I’m disappointed because the series built up to that deciding moment, and I was left wondering, “That’s it?!?”

Deep breaths. I hope the rest doesn’t come off as a rant, because that’s not my intention – just the first part. 😛

I remember liking the first book, but I think I read the next two books just so I can find out what happens next.

First of all, wow, I don’t remember the books being so overwritten. I like descriptions to allow me to picture the scenes in my head, but the writing was so bogged down with details on surroundings and each little thing about someone’s appearance or action, and then it goes an extra few miles to tell us how the character feels. Okay, I get the point. I really just wanted to find out what happened next. But I think I summarize everything and put it in an novella, and the reader wouldn’t miss a thing. This is not to diss on Kate’s writing because I know she put a lot of work into it, but I just don’t think her effort helped her in this book.

And I really struggled for the majority of this bookbecause I couldn’t figure out which “side” the Scales were on and the Outcasts, and how they all fit into the whole “Fall” story. It’s not that I didn’t understand the story. I just didn’t get what was the point of those little episodes and how they helped lead to the end.

What’s more, the thing that was great about the previous three books was the reader had a chance to learn more about Luce’s past (why I like reading time travel books). However, in this book, the majority of the memories were short glimpses.Nothing in depth except the original life, which we don’t see until near the end.

Sadly, I didn’t connect with the characters in this book. Daniel wasn’t very swoony in this book, and Lucinda made me want to shake her more than once. I really liked Gaby and Cam, but they weren’t even in a good part of this book. And I know Luce and Cam had a “past,” and Dee kept alluding to there was more to their relationships (not necessarily romantic), but I’m still confused on that. Even when Cam leans in to whisper in her ear, Luce thought he wanted to kiss her. What was up with them?

Having said that, I didn’t totally hate the book. I liked that Luce was finally – yes FINALLY – able to find out the real story behind that. And aside from the reason of the fall, I thought who Luce really was and how she and Daniel first fell in love was really interesting. I just thought the whole “feelings” description was a bit over the top and even a bit cheesy, but tone it down a bit, and it could be a really good romantic story. Like I said earlier, the reason for all the bloodshed was just kind of lame, and the way it ended was like, “Wow, all those people died just for that, and you’re just going to just shrug and say, ‘Oh well,’ and it’s over?” Still, like I said, it wasn’t to the point where I hated the story.

Just a little additional note. Kate made Plano, Texas sound like a country hick town in the boonies, but it’s actually a rather sophisticated suburb of Dallas. And the weather is actually dry heat compared to Austin or Houston’s mugginess. Which is why I’m surprised to find out Kate went there for high school.

Also, about the reader. Like I said, the book was a bit overwritten, and the feelings descriptions were a bit over the top and cheesy. However, the lady who read the book greatly added to that “oh come on” thought I had as I went through the book. Maybe it was a talent that she was able to dramatize the words, but the writing itself did enough of that. Just not a great combination, in my opinion, when I already thought it was melodramtic enough.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. January 4, 2013 at 5:01 am

Leave a Reply

