Home > Katy's Korner > Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick

Silence by Becca Fitzpatrick

November 15, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Silence
by Becca Fitzpatrick

Silence (Hush Hush 3)

By: Becca Fitzpatrick

Release Date: October 4, 2011

Rating: 3 stars

Summary:WHEN SILENCE IS ALL THAT’S LEFT, CAN THE TRUTH FINALLY BE HEARD?Nora Grey can’t remember the past five months of her life. After the initial shock of waking up in a cemetery and being told that she has been missing for weeks – with no one knowing where she was or who she was with – she tried to get her life back on track. Go to school, hang out with her best friend, Vee, and dodge mom’s creepy new boyfriend.

But there is this voice in the back of her head, an idea that she can almost reach out and touch. Visions of angel wings and unearthly creatures that have nothing to do with the life she knows.

And this unshakable feeling that a part of her is missing.

Then Nora crosses paths with a sexy stranger, whom she feels a mesmerizing connection to. He seems to hold all the answers…and her heart. Every minute she spends with him grows more and more intense until she realizes she could be falling in love. Again.

 

Review: 2 for the beginning and 4 for the end. I was advised to wait until the last book of thetrilogy series, so here goes…

First the “controversy” regarding this book. I would have to agree. I did NOT like the fact that Nora had amnesia in the first half or so. It is one thing to START a series with a character not remembering anything, especially when it’s done in the first-person point of view. That way the readers are going along with the character as they try to figure out what had happened to them. HOWEVER, it’s another to have gone through SO much and then go backwards and have to somewhat go through it all over again. I admit Fitzpatrick took a different approach from the resummarizing of everything, so it wasn’t dull. BUT I spent a good portion of that part either wanting to scream at Nora or rolling my eyes. 

And I did not like the character that Nora was. Sure, I understand it is frustrating to not know what happened to you and not comprehending everything that is going on, especially when you have a feeling that something is brewing. And I’m sure it doesn’t help that people are lying to her. But did Nora really have to be such a bitch to everyone? There were times I really wanted to slap her, especially the way she was treating her mother.

I also get the fact that every now and then, Nora will get that sense of deja vu. But the way some things were written just made me want to say, “Oh come on!” Like meeting Jev. Okay, I get feeling like she’s known him somewhere and her heart picking up a bit. But when she’s alone, and she feels “black” caressing her face or applying pressure on her lips. I know we’re talking about angels, but it’s a bit over the top, in my opinion.

HOWEVER… Once Nora relearned everything that happened, I started enjoying the book a LOT more. 

Nora wasn’t that much of a bitch anymore, and I saw it more as determination for everything that was done to her and the ones she loved. Patch was as dreamy as ever, and Scott was just loveably cute.

I’m glad that we FINALLY get to know what was really going on. It ONLY took three books (:P) but the actually plot is pretty great. It was really interesting to see how the villain was, though not unpredictable, and I found that I didn’t hate him as much as I thought I would because even though he was bad, I kind of understood why he STARTED going down that path in the first place.

I was really intrigued by the story of Nephelim vs. Fallen Angels, and what the Black Hand’s intentions were. It was also really interesting to see how Nora’s role came into play in the whole scheme of things. My only hesitation was Marcie. (See my spoiler on Goodreads.) I guess she may have a bigger role in the last book?

Having said that, I thought the end was pretty awesome – especially the decision and the action Nora had to make. I think it would have been a perfect end to the series, and I don’t really understand the need for a fourth book. Yes, I get that people want to know what happens next, but this is one of the problems that I have with dystopian series (though I know it’s not a dystopian. The great parts are in the first book, and the second book is usually the “rebuilding” stage, which is always a challenge. But it changes the course of the series, and I’m just not sure I’m going to like the way it goes.

Either way, now that the last book is out, I can’t resist not knowing how it all ends – even if I may regret it later. I’ll jut have to wait and see.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

