Home > Katy's Korner > Twilight Movies Marathon – Dum dum dum …

Twilight Movies Marathon – Dum dum dum …

November 17, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Breaking Dawn
Part 2

It’s opening weekend of the last movie in The Twilight Saga – Breaking Dawn: Part 2. Will you be among the fans at the theaters? Well, keep your eyes open for me because I just might be among those begrudgingly dragged to go.

How did I get myself in this mess, you ask?

FIRST, MY DISCLAIMER… I read a lot as a kid, and when high school and college rolled around, I ran out of time. Well about four years ago, my friends’ girlfriends and wives were telling me about the dreamy Edward Cullen and how I just HAD to read these books. Sure enough, when Breaking Dawn came out, I bought the four books and read them all in one weekend. And then I became… one of the obsessed.

No, it’s not like my Daemon Black obsession because I was late in the game. I did, however, try to get my sister-in-law to read the books, and she’s had them this whole time.

IN MY DEFENSE… I didn’t know any better when I thought the books were totally awesome. However, because of the Twilight books, I started reading again and have since read over 900 books, according to my Goodreads. Anyway, the first movie was already out at the time, and when I watched it, I was just SO disappointed that it shattered my perception of Edward Cullen and the books. That and I realized after reading so many others, that the books weren’t all that great to begin with.

So back to my story. My sister-in-law was on a plane two weeks ago when they showed the Twilight movie, and she reported back to me that she really liked it. Anyway, she’s been reading the books last weekend and probably finished them last night.

Which brings me to where I am today. She wants to watch the movies. And since her younger sister is in town, we’re going to bond… over Twilight.

I heard the second movie is a LOT better than the first because they hired a new director and that the movies got progressively better. And there’s been a lot of hype about how the new movie ends. I guess I will find out this weekend. Either way, wish me luck!

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags: ,
  1. Lis
    November 17, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    I WAS THERE I WAS THERE I WAS THERE! 12 friggin hours! :p lol
    But ages ago actually, cause I’m pretty sure it was released in my country as one of the first 😉

    And I really recognize myself in your story btw. Also started reading again after Twilight. But I went to the movie first (then discovered there were books) so I hadn’t any expectations (I even dreaded to go cause the story sounded so lame – my friend still pesters me with that). I also agree with you that after reading so many books, it isn’t what it used to be when I first read them.

    And ok, I guess there is one big difference between you and me… I didn’t end up reading 900 books :/ ahum…

    Idk about the second part being better than the first part. Hmmm, have to think of that. IMO the middle part is in the second part way more boring than BD I was (but maybe it won’t be so boring for you since I warned you and you have now low expectations :P). But yeah the end makes up big time for that.

  2. Lis
    November 17, 2012 at 1:10 pm

    and btw: bragger! ;D

  3. November 17, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Did someone comment that the middle of the second BD movie is more boring than the book? Ouy, I must watch them all and I had to read them all…this statement resounded with me “That and I realized after reading so many others, that the books weren’t all that great to begin with.” I watched New Moon again because it was on Fox all week. Now, not to offend anyone, but that movie was sooo dragged out. I think that was also my 2nd least favorite book after BD. I’ll be going next week willingly and then I will probably silently complain to my husband about it!!!

  4. November 17, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    I saw the movie today! YES, it is AWESOME…… I think the best one of all 4! There is some stuff in this movie that is not in the book…… but All I can say is…… It should have been!

    • November 17, 2012 at 9:35 pm

      LOL you guys! I guess there’s hope yet? Well, New Moon wasn’t TOO bad. I remember New Moon was the most boring out of the four books, but the acting/directing was slightly better, and Taylor Lautner is pretty hot (except for his big nose – that and that he’s WAY too young for me – but then again, I read YA and he’s still pretty hot). Alright, I’m going back in. Wish me luck!

      EDIT – Btw, did I mention I’m missing drinks at a birthday party and UFC fight for this? It’s GEORGE ST. PIERRE!!!

  5. November 18, 2012 at 9:30 am

    New Moon (book and the movie) is a bit boring of all the twilight books! LOL, I just like the movie because, yes, of Taylor Lautner showing off his abs. 😉 But I really like the second part of BD. 😉

  6. November 18, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Did he have his shirt off that much in the book? Lol

  7. Lis
    November 18, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    Katy :
    LOL you guys! I guess there’s hope yet? Well, New Moon wasn’t TOO bad. I remember New Moon was the most boring out of the four books, but the acting/directing was slightly better, and Taylor Lautner is pretty hot (except for his big nose – that and that he’s WAY too young for me – but then again, I read YA and he’s still pretty hot). Alright, I’m going back in. Wish me luck!
    EDIT – Btw, did I mention I’m missing drinks at a birthday party and UFC fight for this? It’s GEORGE ST. PIERRE!!!

    lol!! and i have to say you’re right (even about the nose :p)

  8. November 18, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Well I survived the first four movies. They weren’t great, but they weren’t awful either. One more to go. Just wish I didn’t have to pay money to watch it. 😛

  9. November 18, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    cgiovanniwrites :
    Did he have his shirt off that much in the book? Lol

    YES! LOL. Before he transform into a wolf, he always remove his shirt first. :p

  10. Lis
    November 19, 2012 at 7:52 am

    Katy :
    Well I survived the first four movies. They weren’t great, but they weren’t awful either. One more to go. Just wish I didn’t have to pay money to watch it.

    Ooow K!
    So come on, what’s your verdict on BD II ??

    • November 19, 2012 at 3:55 pm

      We didn’t have time to go to the theaters yesterday… So hopefully Tuesday night. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

