Home > Mitch's Musings > Rockoholic by C.J. Skuse

Rockoholic by C.J. Skuse

Rockoholic
by C. J. Skuse

Rockoholic

By: C. J. Skuse

Release Date: November 1, 2012

Rating: 3 Stars

Summary:She’s got it bad, and he ain’t good — he’s in her garage?”I’m your biggest fan, I’ll follow you until you love me…”

Gonna have to face it: Jody’s addicted to Jackson Gatlin, frontman of The Regulators, and after her best bud Mac scores tickets, she’s front and center at his sold-out concert. But when she gets mashed in the moshpit and bodysurfs backstage, she’s got more than a mild concussion to deal with. By the next morning, the strung-out rock star is coming down in her garage. Jody — oops — kind of kidnapped him. By accident. With a Curly Wurly candy bar. And now he doesn’t want to leave.

It’s a rock-star abduction worthy of an MTV reality series…but who got punk’d?!

Review:

Rockoholic isn’t the book I thought it would be, but kudos to C. J. Skuse for trying something different. Still, I really thought this was one of those premises where the main character does this crazy rock star kidnapping thing and hilarity ensues – except, it’s really not all that funny. I guess I liked the serious turn, teaching a life lesson to one obsessed fangirl, it just wasn’t the story I expected.

The summary’s entirely accurate though, Jody’s obsessed with this dude Jackson Gatlin and his music, until she finally gets him to herself – then her entire world view comes crashing down because he’s not at all like what she expected. I just thought the whole thing would be, I don’t know, funnier? – and it’s really not. Between the way she treats her best friend Mac to that entire chapter about waiting in line for the concert, it’s … kind of sad, actually. Although I am amazed Skuse’s managed to write enough material to fill an entire chapter about waiting in line, but there’s obsessed fangirl for you. In the meantime, even Jody knows what a terrible friend she is (actual admission: I don’t like it when Mac talks to other girls. It just reminds me there are girls out there who’d be a better best friend for him.) and, well … poor Mac. At least until he calls her a stupid cow, and, even if she deserves it, not cool dude.

So after the concert (random WTF line: The stage goes dark and some midgets run on with sparklers.), she does her thing, and even though I really didn’t find her new found stuck with a rock star predicament all that funny, at least it’s poetic justice. Cause Jackson suffers from all the stereotypical problems of an eighties rock star, temperamental, drug habit, and yes, he’s not even a real vegetarian. I can just see the lights going out in Jody’s eyes. So even if I’m neither amused nor sympathetic, I keep reading because I am curious if and when her self-styled miserable, empty, dried-up husk of a life would hit rock bottom. (Also, I have to admit it is a little gratifying to read about the fallout from Jody’s collapsing delusions.)

And that’s when Rockoholic loses me, somewhere between the rehab for Jackson and Jody’s realization that her life doesn’t suck so much (thanks to a convenient assist from her dead granddad). I’m sure the goal was to have Jody stop living in her fantasy, but I got the feeling Skuse was trying to tackle too many problems, and between Jody’s mom, her sister, Mac’s parents, and Jackson’s band problems, all of it seems to be resolved way too easily, all thanks to Jody’s one crazy split second decision and a candy bar. There just seems to be too many problems, too many solutions, too many tense moments, and not enough light hearted, actual laugh out loud scenes.

For me, the funniest scene was the food fight at Jody’s grandpa’s funeral and it was all downhill from there. The rest of Rockoholic is actually fairly serious. Nothing wrong with that, I just wasn’t expecting it.
Go to Mitch’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Mitch's Musings Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

