Home > Katy's Korner > Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

Poison Princessby Kresley Cole

Poison Princess
by Kresley Cole

Poison Princess (The Arcana Chronicles 1)

By: Kresley Cole

Release Date: October 2, 2012

Rating: 5 stars

Summary: #1 New York Times bestselling author Kresley Cole introduces The Arcana Chronicles, post-apocalyptic tales filled with riveting action, the dark mysticism of Tarot cards, and breathtaking romance.

She could save the world—or destroy it.

Sixteen year old Evangeline “Evie” Greene leads a charmed life, until she begins experiencing horrifying hallucinations. When an apocalyptic event decimates her Louisiana hometown, Evie realizes her hallucinations were actually visions of the future—and they’re still happening. Fighting for her life and desperate for answers, she must turn to her wrong-side-of-the-bayou classmate: Jack Deveaux.

But she can’t do either alone.

With his mile-long rap sheet, wicked grin, and bad attitude, Jack is like no boy Evie has ever known. Even though he once scorned her and everything she represented, he agrees to protect Evie on her quest. She knows she can’t totally depend on Jack. If he ever cast that wicked grin her way, could she possibly resist him?

Who can Evie trust?

As Jack and Evie race to find the source of her visions, they meet others who have gotten the same call. An ancient prophesy is being played out, and Evie is not the only one with special powers. A group of twenty-two teens has been chosen to reenact the ultimate battle between good and evil. But it’s not always clear who is on which side…

 

Review: WHAT…! THE…! HELL…! 4.5 – Bouncing between 4 and 5. Have to give it some thought.

Okay, so I was a little hasty about the rating right after I finished the book. The prologue was definitely a hooker. And theend was so explosive that it made me literally yell out, “What?!? I can’t believe that was the end!!!” To the point that I had forgotten that I DID have problems with this book early on. 

So my true verdict a week later? Maybe 3 for the first half, and 5 for the last part. My review IS long, so if you don’t want to read the whole thing, here’s my summary:

GOOD
•Cool concept regarding tarot.
•Creative integrating of concept with characters involved.
•Likeable main character, and swoon-worthy male interest.
•Awesome start, and even more awesome end.
•Interesting dialogue through the book.
•After the apocalypse, storyline was gripping, leaving readers craving for more.

NOT SO GOOD
•After prologue, slow start too filled with high school drama.
•Not enough leading into nightmares and drawings.
•Once real story started, lack of world building.
•Lack of “riveting action” and only one zombie scene.
•Still not sure the book is about.

Now my thoughts. Do I really need to say much about the prologue other than this – how can just a few pages be SO intriguing? The sinister yet mysterious Arthur, the not-fully-there Evie, the pull that makes you want to scream, “What happened? What happened?” And then the book kind of flopped and continued to do so for the first third of the book.

According to the description, Cole introduces a series with “post-apocalyptic tales filled with riveting action, the dark mysticism of Tarot cards and breathtaking romance.” And I think the book lacked the first two of the four listed.

The first third was before the apocalypse. While I understand that it’s important to set up the scene, I think it took way too long for the real part of the book to start. Basically it was just your soap opera for high school kids. Don’t get me wrong, I still liked it enough to give it 3 stars. I mean, Evie was a likable character, and Jackson was an interesting bad boy. But, with the pretense of what the book was going to be about, I wanted to know more about Evie’s nightmares and dreams.Instead, it was too focused on Evie dealing with school, losing her V to her longtime boyfriend, trying to get along with the new kids in school and fighting her feelings for the bad boy.

I think this book would have been a lot more interesting if Cole had incorporated flashbacks throughout the book. I mean, yes, she SORT OF did that with the Arthur scenes, but I kind of those scenes were kind of irrelevant until the end. What I meant is the book to start with the post apocalyptic world, Evie to have flashbacks from before. A really good book that did that was Razorgirl/Tomorrowland by Mari Mancusi. No, I’m not telling Cole how she should write her own book (not really anyway), but the first part was so different from the summary and it took so long that I’m worried some readers may lose interest.

Once the post apocalyptic world did start though, I thought the book kind of lacked in world-building. Sure, Cole has the typical natural disaster that wipes everyone out, and those who remain have to scrounge for food in order to survive, as well as stay away from the flesh-eating monsters. Throw in a group of rebels into the story, and voila. You have your typical dystopian setting. BUT wheres’ the rest of the setting descriptions?

I have so, so many questions. What caused the world to end? I mean, this thing came from nowhere. I don’t think they made it to the cellar, so why did some survive and some didn’t? If the flash burned everything in its path, why was only half of their house gone? What caused the flesh-eating monsters? The book said mutations, but what caused the mutation (i.e. nuclear power, etc.)? If it alters their DNA, why is it only transferable by spit and not sweat or blood or other touch?

And really, my questions didn’t even really matter because it just seems like the apocalyptic part was just thrown in there. Coleshould have just left out the dystopian part and concentrated on the tarot concept. That is, unless that concept has a HUGE correlation to the apocalyptic world (which I’m assuming it does because of Evie’s visions). But at this point in the book, it’s meaningless because Cole doesn’t really explain anything.

So shifting to the tarot concept. Okay, this is why I liked the book so much. What an AWESOME concept. It is truly unique (though not the first book ever that I’ve read about tarot), but Cole integrated the concept into the whole book, and not just use them as a significant tool for some other concept. And Cole really did a great job writing the characters to fit certain roles. I am truly in awe at this, and I really hate that I couldn’t believe the book was over.

And because it was over, I’m just DYING for more. Like right now! I want to know what Evie has in stored for Arthur, and how she came across finding out information about him. I want to know how he fits into the story. I want to meet the others involved in this set. I want to know how they are all connected, and why they have to come together. I want to know what happens with Jackson, and how he will belong in the end. We’ve learned so much so far, and yet, I still have no clue what the book is really about. LOL. I mean I know, but I don’t know.

In hindsight, my review does seem kind of negative. That’s because I DID have problems with the book. But, I still liked the book very much through it all. And I really loved it by the end. So that just tells you, that it’s worth a read. So until the sequel comes out, I’ll be waiting anxiously.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

