Home > Katy's Korner > Deity by Jennifer Armentrout

Deity by Jennifer Armentrout

Deityby Jennifer Armentrout

Deity
by Jennifer Armentrout

Deity (Covenant 3)

By: Jennifer Armentrout

Release Date: November 6, 2012

Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary: “History is on repeat, and things didn’t go so well the last time. ”

Alexandria isn’t sure she’s going to make it to her eighteenth birthday–to her Awakening. A long-forgotten, fanatical order is out to kill her, and if the Council ever discovers what she did in the Catskills, she’s a goner… and so is Aiden.

If that’s not freaky enough, whenever Alex and Seth spend time “training”–which really is just Seth’s code word for some up-close and personal one-on-one time–she ends up with another mark of the Apollyon, which brings her one step closer to Awakening ahead of schedule. Awesome.

But as her birthday draws near, her entire world shatters with a startling revelation and she’s caught between love and Fate. One will do anything to protect her. One has been lying to her since the beginning. Once the gods have revealed themselves, unleashing their wrath, lives will be irrevocably changed… and destroyed.

Those left standing will discover if love is truly greater than Fate…

 

Review: 2 for the first half, 4 for the second half, and a 1/2 star bump up for the freaking end.

I was really excited about this book coming out, but it took me three weeks to get through the first half. I just really struggled with it because of two reasons: 1) nothing really happened so I was pretty bored and 2) Alex was just not the same character I really liked in the first two books.

I spend most of the first half being really pissed off at Alex. She was not the spunky hot head I had admired so much in the first two books. Sure, she had moments that frustrated me, but she didn’t annoy the crap out of me either. In this book, though, she was just whiny, and I felt she treated both Seth and Aiden unfairly. Aiden is so swoon-worthy, but at some point, I got so fed up with his sacrificial, “I love you, I must stay away from you” attitude. In book 1, it was hot. By book 2, I was ready for him to stake his claim or let Alex move on. And it was nice to see that Seth finally had a chance, but Alex was more or less settling – and she made sure everyone knew she was settling.

Having said that, I did manage to make it halfway through, and I’m glad I did because that’s when it started becoming more of what I liked in the first two books – meaning Armentrout shifted the focus back on the story, while not forgetting about the romance.

All this time, I knew the gods were involved, but I finally saw how they were tied into the story. It became a bigger story than just pures, half-bloods and daemons. There is so much more to who were the pawns, who were in power and who were pulling whose strings. There wasn’t quite as much action as I would have liked, but there was enough meat to the story to build up for the next book.

And the end? Oh. My. God. Why does Armentrout always do this to me? Though I’m not just dying to know what happens next, with an ending like that, I’m not ready to give up on this series yet.

So my earlier question about Aiden vs. Seth? (See my spoiler on Goodreads.)

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

