Home > X Guest Columns X > Flutter by Gina Linko

Flutter by Gina Linko

flutter

Flutter
by Gina Linko

Flutter

By: Gina Linko

Release Date: October 23, 2012

Rating: 4 stars

Summary: All Emery Land wants is to be like any other 17-year-old—to go to school, hang out with her friends, and just be normal. But for as long as she can remember, she’s suffered from seizures. And in recent years they’ve consumed her life. To Emery they’re much more than seizures, she calls them loops—moments when she travels through wormholes back and forth in time and to a mysterious town. The loops are taking their toll on her physically. So she practically lives in the hospital where her scientist father and an ever-growing team of doctors monitor her every move. They’re extremely interested in the data they collect when Emery seizes. It appears that she’s tapping into parts of the brain typically left untouched by normal human beings.Escaping from the hospital, Emery travels to Esperanza, the town from her loops on the upper peninsula of Michigan, where she meets Asher Clarke. Ash’s life is governed by his single-minded pursuit of performing good Samaritan acts to atone for the death of a loved one. His journey is very much entwined with Emery’s loops.Drawn together they must unravel their complicated connection before it’s too late.

 

Review: 
I had no expectations when I started this book. Just a random read I picked out. And it hasn’t happened often that a book surprised me so much as Flutter did. This turned out to be an amazingly beautiful, sweet and heart touching read with a nice balance between friendship/love and a bit of mystery/suspense.

I liked Emery’s spirit and attitude. After being controlled by her father for so long she finally takes her life in own hands. I like a strong heroine instead of a damsel in distress. However, Emery’s will to take care of everything herself balanced a few times to be almost (almost!) annoying. I didn’t always understood her reaction towards Ash, who clearly just wanted to help.

And then Ash… Yeah that guy got to me. With his mysterious thing going on. I liked the way how Linko kept the mystery around him going until almost the end of the book, but not in a dragging way. And I didn’t succeed to figure out myself what his story is. After reading what he’d been through my heart ached for him.

I liked the setting and the descriptions about Esperanza. While reading I could really imagine being there. The writing style just sucked me in.

The twist and explanation about the seizures was nicely done. I have to give it to Linko, I really didn’t saw that one coming. It was not a “wth!” kind of twist. Once I read it, it was acceptable for me.

And then the end.. What an ending! Normally I’m not good in not spoiling anything but this time I’m really going to shut my mouth cause in my opinion the ending is the cherry on the cake. I think it is because of the ending the book will stick with me for even longer.

I would have given this book 5 stars, if not for one tiny detail that didn’t make much sense to me.
To be honest, I am surprised not more people read/rated this book cause all in all Flutter really was one of the better books I’ve recently read!

Go to Lis’ review on Goodreads.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment