Home > Katy's Korner > The Obsidian Blade by Pete Hautman & Joshua Swanson

The Obsidian Blade by Pete Hautman & Joshua Swanson

The Obsidian Bladeby Pete Hautman & Joshua Swanson

The Obsidian Blade
by Pete Hautman & Joshua Swanson

The Obsidian Blade (The Klaatu Diskos 1)

By: Pete Hautman & Joshua Swanson

Release Date: April 10, 2012

Rating: 2 stars

Summary: The first time Tucker saw the disk, his father disappeared into thin air. The Reverend Adrian Feye had climbed onto the roof to fix a loose shingle ? and suddenly he was gone. An hour later, the Reverend came walking up the road, tattered and sunburned, bringing with him an unspeaking, yellow-haired, dark-eyed girl. He refused to say where he had been, instead declaring that there would be no more prayer in the Feye house: He had lost his faith. Now Tucker’s family is unraveling. The Reverend spends hours brooding in his study. Tucker’s once warmhearted and loving mother withdraws from the world, claiming she doesn’t care to be watched by ghosts. And, above them, the unearthly disk comes and goes. Then, one day, both of Tucker’s parents vanish. From the distant past to an even more distant and terrifying future, Tucker desperately searches for his parents ? and discovers the astonishing secrets of the Klaatu diskos.

 

Review: I really wanted to like this book, but I don’t think it was for me.

I’m extremely fascinated with the diskos and its time-traveling abilities, and it was cool to read (or in my case hear) about Tucker’s travels to other time periods, even during the time of Christ. But even though the storyline had potential, to be quite honest, I kind of struggled to pay attention to what was going on. I couldn’t really connect with Tucker and kind of felt indifferent toward him.

And when it was all said and done, I don’t really get it. I understand the basic concept, but I can’t figure out if the purpose of the time travel is more sci-fi with technological advances toward the future or if it was more religious oriented in the fact that the time travel has to do with the grand purpose of destiny. I don’t really see how everything comes together. And it doesn’t help that I can’t grasp WHY there’s the age difference for the last family reunion.

I know that Tucker has a lot of questions, and this is only the first book in the series. But I just can’t wrap my mind around what’s going on, and I doubt I’ll be continuing the series. But that’s just me, personally.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

