Home > Katy's Korner > Cryer’s Cross by Lisa McMann & Julia Whelan

Cryer’s Cross by Lisa McMann & Julia Whelan

Cryer's Crossby Lisa McMann & Julia Whelan

Cryer’s Cross
by Lisa McMann & Julia Whelan

Cryer’s Cross

By: Lisa McMann & Julia Whelan

Release Date: February 8, 2011

Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary: The community of Cryer’s Cross, Montana (population 212) is distraught when Tiffany, a high-school freshman, disappears without a trace. Plagued by OCD, sixteen-year-old Kendall is freaked out by the empty desk in the one-room schoolhouse, and is relieved when her boyfriend Nico takes the seat. And then he goes missing too. An increasingly anxious Kendall finds herself drawn to the desk: If she sits there, will she also vanish? But instead of vanishing, something appears: eerie graffiti messages on the desk’s surface that could only be from Nico. Desperate to help him, Kendall stumbles upon some ugly—and deadly—local history. And she’s about to find out just how far the townspeople will go to keep their secrets buried….

 

Review: This book ended up surprisingly good, though I didn’t really like it until the end. I’m going to keep this review fairly vague because I don’t want to spoil it.

I would say about 75% of this book was just okay. To be honest, I kind of struggled with it and only finished it because it was an audiobook, and I had nothing better to do. It was a typical mystery, so it was entertaining enough but nothing special.

In fact, I almost thought Kendall was a flat character, and really, the only thing made her remotely interesting was the OCD. At the same time, I don’t think she was really obsessive/compulsive, other than she’s slightly particular about certain things and that she tends to think A LOT. I know a lot of normal people who joke they have OCD, and they act just like Kendall. I would have liked to see McMann make her case a bit more extreme because I think things like ADD, ADHD and OCD are too quickly diagnosed these days.

Like I said, the storyline was okay. There are mysterious disappearances, and the small town tries to figure out what happened. I think the book focused a little bit too much into the romance, although I don’t think McMann did that justice either. I wasn’t swept away with their romance. And it was weird how McMann made Jacian a fake bad boy – like he was supposed to be one, but he wasn’t. I don’t know how else to explain it.

When I meant the book was surprisingly good, I meant the mystery’s end. Believe me, when it was first mentioned, and I scoffed, thinking, “Oh PLEASE don’t tell me this is what it’s going to be.” It sounded SO stupid.

BUT… when it was all over, and the background story was told, I realized, “Wow, that is a really good ghost story to tell at a sleepover or a camping trip.” Too bad it wasn’t until near the very end. Yes, it makes for a good surprise, but I can see a lot of readers either 1) giving up ahead of time or 2) was ready for the story to be over so they won’t appreciate the twist so much.

Like I said, I wasn’t too fond of the book at first, but when it was all said and done, it was surprisingly a lot better than I had expected.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

