Home > Katy's Korner, X Authors and Book Tours X > Jennifer Armentrout’s Opal Release Party – Photos & Q&A

Jennifer Armentrout’s Opal Release Party – Photos & Q&A

December 16, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

2012-12-16 01.44.19As you all know by now because of my numerous posts, Jennifer Armentrout‘s release party for “Opal,” the third book in the “Lux” series, was tonight – or rather, last night since it’s now past 3 a.m.

The event featured special guest, Pepe Toth, the cover model for Daemon Black.

Entangled Publishing had hosted a contest between five U.S. cities so fans can choose where the launch party will be held, and Houston had over 500 votes!

Fans showed up an hour or more before the 7 p.m. start, and there were still a lot of people there when I left around 10:30 p.m.

There was a question and answer session, book signing, raffle giveaways for a number of prizes, as well as pictures with Armentrout and Toth.

I took about 75 photos, including one of myself with the two (which I will keep to myself), but I will stagger a few of them throughout some of Armentrout’s answers. (Disclaimer: Quotes from the parts I caught because I was typing on my iPhone).

The “Lux” series almost didn’t happen…

“Lux” almost didn’t happen. I turned in my adult manuscript. Liz [her publicist] said, “Have you ever wanted to write about alien series in high school?” My first response was, “I never watched Roswell.” And I kind of laughed and said, “No.” I don’t know anything about aliens in high school.

Then I thought, “No one really writes about them. I could really write about aliens in high school.” I turned in my manuscript the next day [she said 50-70 pages]. She said, “Ok, keep writing. I really like this.”

I got halfway they the book, and I didn’t have any idea what kind of alien the book was about. All I had in my head is a huge bug. All I could think of was a huge cocoon. [She went on to describe the ideas of Luxen being made of light and the Arum.]

I wrote “Obsidian” in 6-7 days. And then, I had to rewrite it. Daemon was always a jerk. But this was the first time I’ve ever had an editor that said, “Can you make him more of a (insert your choice of words).”

2012-12-15 19.12.39

Findings the cover models…

Liz [her publicist] did actually. She was looking at models for different covers and saw him and said, “OMG! OMG! THIS is Daemon!” She sent me this cover. I was really happy with it. And then I was freaked out. If there is a character like that out there, did I see him?

2012-12-15 19.13.49

Meeting Pepe Toth and Sztella Tziotziosz

When Pepe, emailed me saying, “Hi, I’m the cover model,” this was around the time of Myspace and things like that so you never know if it’s real. Then he found me on Facebook, and I said, “Holy crap, it really is them.”

[Armentrout said she started conversing with them, saying she needed new pictures and a trailer. Then they decided to meet for the first time in Atlanta.]

I didn’t know there was a different international airport. It took us two hours to find them, and I felt really bad. I was nervous because what if I can’t find them. And what if cant recognize them, or what if they can’t recognize me. And then they stopped off the train, and I was like, “Okay.” [It was hard not to recognize them.]

2012-12-15 19.24.08

Future books in the “Lux” series…

There is five books planned. There’s been one novella, and maybe another novella.

Obsession has some characters from “Opal,” but it is from the other side. For adults. There will be some overlapping from “Opal,” but you don’t have to read “Opal” to read “Obsession.”

“Obsession” is due for release in March 2013. Summary: USA Today bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout’s adult novel OBSESSION, which takes place in the world of the YA series THE LUX, in which a young woman discovers an alien race is behind her best friend’s death, making her their next target, and must rely on a sexy, domineering stranger to protect her, who turns out to be the biggest threat of them all – an Arum, to Liz Pelletier at Entangled, for publication in spring 2013, by Kevan Lyon at Marsal Lyon Literary Agency (world).

2012-12-15 21.06.06

Always wanted to be a writer…

I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I know this is cliche, but when I was little, I wrote poems with Magic Marker. But they were really horrible. In eighth grade, I began writing in class – in math class, I’m sorry, but I was really bored – and I wrote a book. [She said she got busy in college.] After I got out of college, about 5-6 years ago, I started writing again. So bored, I had nothing to do.

2012-12-15 21.06.12

Don’t know anyone like her characters in real life…

I don’t know anyone like them in real life. I’m usually inspired by other characters. I’ve always liked characters with quick comebacks.

[Armentrout said she doesn’t name of her characters after people in real life – with the exception of two, who knew their names were going to be used – because they tend to think the character’s personalities are related with theirs.]

2012-12-15 21.06.54

Other notable quotes…

The “Lux” series is my favorite because of the fan interaction.

I would love to see Lux be a movie, but that has to be someone in Hollywood say.

He [Pepe] has always had an obsidian necklace. Even before the books.

I can’t read a book after I wrote it. I read it, and I’m like, “OMG, I can’t believe I wrote that. It’s embarrassing.” So if you ever want to be an author, don’t read what you write.

[When asked who she would like to write a book with, Armentrout said she would also love to team up with Rachel Vincent, author of “Shifters” and “Soul Screamers,” or Cora Carmack, author of “Losing It.”]

EDIT: And because you all requested it… A close up…

pepecloseup

  1. Lis
    December 16, 2012 at 3:00 am

    “Because someone here is SO impatient… ”

    I’m sure you are not talking about me..? Not my fault you’re slow btw :p

  2. Katy
    December 16, 2012 at 3:02 am

    I have some Q&A I want to post… Patience!

  3. Navs
    December 16, 2012 at 3:58 am

    I like I like!!

    • Katy
      December 16, 2012 at 4:07 am

      Okay, ladies. The post is up. I’m going to bed. Good night. And thanks for everyone who voted for Houston!

  4. Lis
    December 16, 2012 at 4:20 am

    Aw so cool for you babe! You met your daemon 😉 lol
    Hey are you planning to read that adult book btw?

  5. Navs
    December 16, 2012 at 4:33 am

    Yay for Katy! I’m so glad you got to meet your Daemon! Isn’t there a close-up photo of Pepe? I’d like to ogle some more. 😉

  6. Lis
    December 16, 2012 at 4:36 am

    Navs :
    Yay for Katy! I’m so glad you got to meet your Daemon! Isn’t there a close-up photo of Pepe? I’d like to ogle some more.

    lol!
    I can’t help it, but imo he looks hotter on the book covers! Then again, I haven’t met him in real life of course…

    OW, K! tell us!! Did he smell good?? 😛

    • Navs
      December 16, 2012 at 4:41 am

      Lis :

      Navs :
      Yay for Katy! I’m so glad you got to meet your Daemon! Isn’t there a close-up photo of Pepe? I’d like to ogle some more.

      lol!
      I can’t help it, but imo he looks hotter on the book covers! Then again, I haven’t met him in real life of course…
      OW, K! tell us!! Did he smell good??

      It must be the stubble. Stubble makes a guy look so much sexier.
      OMG MEL! Did you personally ask Katy to sniff out Pepe for you?

  7. Navs
    December 16, 2012 at 4:43 am

    Wait..I think the stubble and the messy hair. You know, just out of bed look. Yup, definitely that.

  8. Lexie
    December 16, 2012 at 4:51 am

    Whooo! Yes, please tell us, does he smell good? :p And btw, me wants a pic of you with them. you have? will wait for your email. :p

  9. December 16, 2012 at 5:23 am

    I wish I could have been there! I would have loved to have met both Jennifer and Pepe. 🙂

  10. Lis
    December 16, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Ow and K besides his smell, how does his voice sound?? ^-^

  11. Katy
    December 16, 2012 at 9:44 am

    Alright, ladies. This is the best close-up I had, but at least he’s looking straight at the cameras so drool away. 😉 He wasn’t wearing any cologne as far as I can tell, and there were too many people for me to be creepy and take a good whiff of him. 😛 And he has a very soft voice (which was disappointing that he chose to not use the microphone), and the accent… Sigh… You can sort of hear him here: https://agirlaboyandablog.wordpress.com/2012/11/24/jennifer-armentrouts-opal-release-party-and-the-winner-is/

  12. December 16, 2012 at 10:35 am

    So happy you got to go and had a good time!
    even though i am not a daemon fan- i think pepe could sway my opinion on him 😉

  13. December 20, 2012 at 11:31 am

    I’m not sure you got enough photos of the model.

    • Katy
      December 20, 2012 at 11:32 am

      I only took like 75 or so. 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

