Home > Katy's Korner, X Guest Columns X > Down on my Lux

Down on my Lux

December 20, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

darth daemonFaithful readers, there was a time when I would have told you that Obisdian was quite simply unbreakable as my favorite work of fiction.

But like so much volcanic glass, this contrived pile of beagle dung shattered in my view and has been replaced by my new obsession. You guessed it! STAR WARS!!!

As a lot of you might know, our new blogger is R2-D2, who is not only a lovable scamp, but also one of my personal heroes. Over the weekend, R2, using a series of bleeps and blorps, convinced me to watch all six of the sci-fi movies in a row, to once and for all prove his point that Star Wars is the best thing ever.

I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The movies were so amazing, I’m honestly considering giving up reading altogether. I mean, sure books are full of nice, flowery language, but how does that compare with seeing X-Wings and TIE Fighters dogfight over the super structure of the second Death Star? I can answer that question for you – THEY CAN’T!!!

I know this post might come as a shock to a lot of my faithful readers, but since Saturday, I have watched the Star Wars movies three times apiece.  I was almost late to work on Monday morning becuase I was so blown away by the three-way lightsaber battle between Darth Maul, Obi-Wan Kenobi and Qui-Gon Jinn at the end of The Phantom Menace. Seeing Obi-Wan use the Soresu lightsaber technique to counter Maul’s dual-bladed light staff just does not get old, particularly when you consider how unfocused the Padawan is after seeing his master, OOPS, SPOILER ALERT, YA’LL!!! killed by the Sith Lord mere moments before.

About the only thing more exciting for me than the lightsaber battles are the politics. I mean in Attack of the Clones when Chancellor Palpatine manipulates Representative Binks into making the motion to legitamize his emergency powers and raise up the clone army, I was on the edge of my seat, squealing, barely able to watch!

Anyway, I haven’t told Mitch yet, but the site is getting a MAJOR OVERHAUL starting this weekend, because I’m starting with the Young Jedi Knight series tonight, then moving into the Legacy comics as soon as I get my next paycheck.

Until next time, as Luke Starkiller is fond of saying, Live Long and Prosper!

Astromech’s note: This entry is purely a work of fiction.

  1. December 20, 2012 at 12:40 am

  2. Lis
    December 20, 2012 at 12:44 am

    Lol K! So this is what you’ve been doing huh 🙂
    I only saw the 3 new movies (so the ones with Hayden Christensen) but now you make me doubt to watch the old ones too :p so no YA for you anytime soon??

    • December 20, 2012 at 9:35 am

      Yes… I was SO inspired by the Clone Wars that I got my evil twin to go to Jennifer Armentrout’s Opal release party, while the real me stayed at home to finish my Star Wars marathon. 😉

      • Lis
        December 20, 2012 at 10:38 am

        Hmmm
        I thought you were the evil part 😛

    • December 20, 2012 at 1:20 pm

      Hmm, you’re not going to admit to your other experience with Star Wars? What you’ve been doing the past few nights?

  3. Celeste
    December 20, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Are you seriously telling me that you’ve never seen Star Wars at all until this past weekend? I’m baffled Katy, baffled.

    • December 20, 2012 at 9:35 am

      Hmmm… I guess now is NOT a good time to tell you that there is a small, teeny, tiny chance that I still may not have?

      • Lis
        December 20, 2012 at 10:38 am

        Now you’re confusing :/
        Isn’t your post all about watching Star Wars past weekend??

      • Lis
        December 20, 2012 at 10:44 am

        Omg!!! I think I get it!!
        Damn woman… For a sec I believed you did. You really should watch them though 🙂 especially those with Hayden Christensen :))

        • December 20, 2012 at 11:14 am

          As an actor, Hayden Christensen is really good looking

      • December 20, 2012 at 11:24 am

        lmao!
        i got to tell you darling, you hanging with a bunch of geeks here! its kinda a big nono to admit that in these circles 😉

  4. Lis
    December 20, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    Lol i agree :))
    I really liked him in his role as anakin

    • December 20, 2012 at 7:02 pm

      You do realize he is a multiple Razzie winner for worst actor?

      • Lis
        December 20, 2012 at 8:03 pm

        Why??

        • December 21, 2012 at 1:20 pm

          Lines like “I don’t like sand”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

