Home > Katy's Korner > Opal by Jennifer Armentrout

Opal by Jennifer Armentrout

December 27, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments
Opalby Jennifer Armentrout

Opal
by Jennifer Armentrout

Opal (Lux 3)

By: Jennifer Armentrout

Release Date: December 11, 2012

Rating: 3 stars

Summary: No one is like Daemon Black.When he set out to prove his feelings for me, he wasn’t fooling around. Doubting him isn’t something I’ll do again, and now that we’ve made it through the rough patches, well… There’s a lot of spontaneous combustion going on.But even he can’t protect his family from the danger of trying to free those they love.After everything, I’m no longer the same Katy. I’m different… And I’m not sure what that will mean in the end. When each step we take in discovering the truth puts us in the path of the secret organization responsible for torturing and testing hybrids, the more I realize there is no end to what I’m capable of. The death of someone close still lingers, help comes from the most unlikely source, and friends will become the deadliest of enemies, but we won’t turn back. Even if the outcome will shatter our worlds forever.

Together we’re stronger… and they know it.

 

Review: Mitch is never going to let me live this down, but I am DEVASTATED because I just did not like this book as much as the first two.

Let’s face it, Obsidian was SO great because of one thing, and one thing only – Daemon Black. And I was one of Armentrout’s biggest fans, on a campaign to get all of my friends to read the book and see the light. And in Onyx, Daemon wasn’t quite as swoon-worthy, and Katy was an annoying whiny brat, but I thought the storyline was much more developed. Sadly, Opal lacked both. While I still liked this book, I just didn’t get the same experience while reading it.

First of all, I have mixed feelings about Daemon’s and Katy’s relationship. On one hand, I’m glad to see they have progressed rather well and that it was possible for them to have the sweet connection, which is the ideal, dreamy wish of every girl. However, I miss that spark between them – the childish “I like you so I’m going to infuriate you” type of bickering that made the dialogue so great. No, I don’t condone drama, but some of Armentrout’s best lines were in those scenes.

The characters just were not the same in this book. Like I said, Daemon is sweet, and I would so fall in love with him for that if he had been that way all along. But his lines and cockiness just do not strike me the same way as they used to. And I understand that he’s looking out for Katy, but when did he get so possessive and overprotective?

And Katy? What happened to the spunky, no-nonsense girl I loved so much in Obsidian? I understand she has been through a lot, but my goodness, the girl cries over everything! When Daemon tell her she’s beautiful, when her mother tells her Daemon is a good boy and just about every other slightly emotional occurrence. She mentions being a crybaby near the end, but I wanted to roll my eyes all along.

And it wasn’t just our star couple. Dawson was an ass, not the nice brother we met in Shadows. Dee was a bitch, not the bubbly, friendly girl we met all along. Andrew and Ash were almost nice, and I think Armentrout tried TOO hard to make Blake a shady, creepy person. Like I said, I know a lot has happened, causing our characters to have a lapse in their usual self, but still…

But the reason why I liked Onyx, even though the characters had started changing, was because of the storyline. Daemon and Katy had to figure out what was happening between them (not relationship wise, but about what happened near the end of book 1), and they discover there is more to the war against the Arum and to the DOD than they can ever begin to imagine.

In Opal, nothing really happened. I mean, yes, Dawson reappears and tries to get Beth back. And Blake comes back, and the group has to figure out if they can trust him or not. And they learn about a new gemstone and its powers. But that’s about it. I didn’t feel there was much of a storyline, nor did the characters really get much further in their “journey.”

By the way, the end wasn’t so bad, maybe because I was kind of prepared for it, but I wasn’t like, “OMG, I have to have the next book now.” Or maybe it was because that scene was the most exciting/eventful part of the book?

For me, I liked this book because I’m a fan of the series, and I really want to know what happens with our characters. However, they just weren’t the same people, and as far as the plot goes, this really felt like the “middle book” that just stretches the story between the real action. I just wish I finished this book feeling more … I don’t know… satisfied.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. December 28, 2012 at 4:11 pm

    sigh! you know my issues with this book.
    so not gonna rant.

    love your review! and i am not much of a fan since the last book as you know. the thing i was left wondering is, why the hell write a book like that? why not just finish the series in 3 possibly 4books? or write 2 good(ish) books? (since i didnt care much for onyx either..)

    and i find it kinda sad that it was not satisfying for you- ido really like it when you fangirl and sqeeee 😉

    (plus the arguments with M would haven been way better.. Damn, just reaslied Armentrout robbed me of that fun as well! DISAPPOINTMENT ALL AROUND)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

