Home > Katy's Korner > Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep

Crimson Frost by Jennifer Estep

December 30, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments
Crimson Frostby Jennifer Estep

Crimson Frost
by Jennifer Estep

Crimson Frost (Mythos Academy 4)

By: Jennifer Estep

Release Date: December 24, 2012

Rating: 3 stars

Summary: For a moment, a face flashed before my eyes—the most hideous face I’d ever seen. No matter how hard I tried to forget what had happened, I saw him everywhere I went. It was Loki—the evil god that I’d helped set free against my will.

I should have known that my first official date with Logan Quinn was destined to end in disaster. If we’d gotten into a swordfight, or been ambushed by Reapers, I’d have been more prepared. But getting arrested mid-sip at the local coffee hangout? I didn’t see that one coming.

I’ve been accused of purposely helping the Reapers free Loki from his prison—and the person leading the charge against me is Linus Quinn, Logan’s dad. The worst part is that pretty much everyone at Mythos Academy thinks I’m guilty. If I’m going to get out of this mess alive, I’ll have to do it myself…

 

Review: 2 stars for the first half and 4 stars for the second half.

I’m not sure if it’s because I read the first three books back-to-back, but I am really struggling with this one.

The first third was about everyone wrongly accusing Gwen of being Loki’s Champion and causing all this trouble, and she kind of wallowed in self-pity about how unfair it was, yet, she did nothing and didn’t even really try to speak out to defend herself. What happened to the no-nonsense girl that put up with Logan and all that crap thrown at her before? It frustrated me, and it annoyed me.

A third of the way through, finally, there was something going on, but it was the exact same thing – and attack in the library where an artifact was stolen.

And I think I remember her doing this before, but I’m getting a bit annoyed with people being referenced as “the Spartan” or Valkyrie or Amazon or etc. I understand that Logan calls Gwen “Gypsy Girl” as a nickname, but the first-person narration constantly distinguishes the kind – almost to the point of discrimination, but not really? I don’t know, it’s starting to get to me.

It also didn’t help that the reason I liked the other books so much was because I got to know Gwen’s friends. They were a good support system for her, and in this book, the only character that was slightly highlighted was Alexei, but he was so stoic of a character, that it was really hard to get much on him. I just wish there was more of Logan or Daphne or Oliver.

The last third of the book was when the story started to pick up – becoming more of the series that I had enjoyed so much. It wasn’t hard to figure out who the Reaper of Chaos was and who was behind everything. When things seem too easy or too convenient, that is the time to get suspicious.

But that was when Gwen returned to being the determined character I liked all along – and her thoughts went from thinking things were unfair to actually doing something about it. Instead of being frustrated with her, I started admiring her again for the tough decisions she had to make.

It was also when I was able to get more of the meat of the story – who was involved, why, the meaning of the artifacts, the explanation of the background that lead up to that moment and how everything began to fit together. And of course, the action.

Once again, Estep has created a great story involving the battle between the two gods and the champions serving them, using the mythical tools available to them. I just wish the whole book had been more about that than how unfair it was that Gwen had been blamed for everything.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

