Home > Katy's Korner > Shadowlands by Kate Brian

Shadowlands by Kate Brian

Shadowlandsby Kate Brian

Shadowlands
by Kate Brian

Shadowlands (Shadowlands 1)

By: Kate Brian

Release Date: January 8, 2013

Rating: 2 stars

Summary: Rory Miller had one chance to fight back and she took it. Rory survived… and the serial killer who attacked her escaped. Now that the infamous Steven Nell is on the loose, Rory must enter the witness protection with her father and sister, Darcy, leaving their friends and family without so much as a goodbye.

Starting over in a new town with only each other is unimaginable for Rory and Darcy. They were inseparable as children, but now they can barely stand each other. As the sisters settle in to Juniper Landing, a picturesque vacation island, it seems like their new home may be just the fresh start they need. They fall in with a group of beautiful, carefree teens and spend their days surfing, partying on the beach, and hiking into endless sunsets. But just as they’re starting to feel safe again, one of their new friends goes missing. Is it a coincidence? Or is the nightmare beginning all over again?

 

Review: This book had a lot of potential to be brilliant, but 1) there was a lot that didn’t make sense and 2) it was just too frustrating to read. I had a lot of “WTF” moments – some good, some bad.

I wasn’t crazy about how the book started because I felt it was a little over the top. (view spoiler on my Goodreads) And Rory was just a little too much for me. I understand she’s scared and freaked out, but I wanted to shake her and yell at her to get a freakin’ grip.

About a third of the way through, I had my first “WTF” moment. I actually had to stop and go back and read the summary. Um, yeah, mixed feelings about that too.

And then there were just some things that didn’t make sense.

I’m sorry but if the authorities assign to protective services, they will get someone to accompany you to an unknown location and have you all set up. They won’t just say, “Here’s the hideout, now go,” and then send them on their way on their own. What if something happened to them on the way there? What if they never make it? And then once that happens, they’re supposed to keep tabs on them. Not leave them there to flounder on their own. So the last part of my questions on that was answered at the end, but it still doesn’t explain the start to make enough sense.

I also understand Brian was trying to set up the scene and depict the tension between the sisters with Christopher but you’re left wondering, “What’s the point?” for a good part of the book. And with making Rory the nerdy science geek, I get Brian made it a reason for jealousy, but she doesn’t follow up with much. Why wear an “E=MC2” shirt if you can just make Darcy jealous of a normal girl who’s not as pretty and popular as she is. Shrugs.

And then the overall story? Well the whole time I was reading it, I was frustrated because a lot didn’t make sense, and I just knew Brian was going to jump out anytime with the shocking surprise that will tie it all together. It didn’t make it any less frustrating to read. Well, at the end of it, I have even more questions. Yes, I understood what they were saying, and it was quite brilliant on Brian’s part, but a lot of it still did not make sense. I have to leave this vague so I can’t go into details.

So in short, I think this book is going to draw mixed feelings from most readers. I just hope that the sequel does a lot of explaining, because as it stands, I’m not satisfied with what she gave us.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. January 14, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    I’m unsure about this one, and it sounds like you had quite a mixed bag of feelings towards it too. Still, I have a copy, so I’m sure I’ll give it a shot. I’ll just make sure not to expect too much.

    Great review, Katy!

    • January 14, 2013 at 6:45 pm

      I think it all depends on how perceptive you are. It’s certainly not a traditional murder mystery, Katy and I really disagree on this (and not in the polite way we can rib each other over) because she didn’t put some of the twists together and I did it too quickly. Whatever your reaction I hope you enjoy it when you get to it.

      • January 14, 2013 at 7:21 pm

        I got the twist. I just didn’t think some of it makes sense. I have a list I didn’t want to pub.

  2. Lis
    January 15, 2013 at 2:48 am

    damn i still need to read this one.. i forgot all about it last weekend :/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

