Home > Katy's Korner > Stolen Nights (Vampire Queen 2) by Rebecca Maizel

Stolen Nights (Vampire Queen 2) by Rebecca Maizel

Stolen Nightsby Rebecca Maizel

Stolen Nights
by Rebecca Maizel

Stolen Nights (Vampire Queen 2)

By: Rebecca Maizel

Release Date: January 29, 2013

Rating: 2 stars

Summary: Lenah Beaudonte should be dead. But having sacrificed herself to save another, she finds herself awakening with strange powers that are neither vampire nor human—and a new enemy on her trail. In her vampire life, Lenah had thought that being human was all she ever wanted; but the human heart suffers pain, heartbreak and loss.With her new powers growing and the dark force of the Nex after her soul, Lenah faces a choice: between the mortal love of gorgeous Justin, whose passion fed her human soul, and taking a different path to become the mistress of her own destiny, wherever that may lead…

 

Review: It’s been two years since I read the first book so I don’t really remember much about it or how I felt about it, but I thought I liked it enough to have the sequel on my to read list. However, I can’t say I liked Stolen Nights very much. I know a lot of my review is ragging on Lenah, but if you skip to the last paragraphs, I have legitimate points, at least I think, when it comes to inconsistencies in the end.

The biggest problem I had with this book was I could not stand Lenah. She was selfish and made some very stupid, stupid mistakes. Yes, that was the meat of the story, but my goodness, she irritated the hell out of me. And I don’t mind love triangles, but what I do mind, is when a heroine HAS decided what she wants and still continues to string along the wrong person. THAT just makes me mad.

I also didn’t like that she was such a weak character. I know that Maizel wanted to emphasize that Lenah has been a vampire for, what 600 years now, and it takes a bit to get use to the fact that she took all that strength, ability and power she had all those years for granted, and now she’s a helpless human. That wasn’t the part I had a problem with.

The part I DID have a problem with was she was weak mentally. I understand now that she is the hunted, the tables have turned, and I don’t fault her for being scared for her life. However, Lenah came across as a really whiny, “why is everything so unfair,” helpless, damsel in distress for WAY too long in the book. Really? This used to be the vampire queen? I understand the new state is a bit of a shock from what she used to be able to do, but she doesn’t do anything to adapt except feels sorry for herself and wallow in the pity that she is the cause of all these bad things that are happening.

The lack of action scenes is also disappointing. And when there WAS action – wait, when there was an action scene – it was missing the kickass part. There was a bunch of hair pulling and quick blood draining, and that was pretty much it. I was ready for a showdown between two of the most power women in this book, but sadly, that never came.

The other problem I had was the end. I don’t think it was packaged very neatly. I mean, I’m glad the unselfish part of Lenah found an exception for Rhode, but I think it upsets that balance that the Aeris had been talking about at the beginning.

And it was kind of inconsistent, though I can’t really explain it without spoiling the book. (View spoiler on my Goodreads.)

Also, there was a part of it that wasn’t made clear. (View spoiler on my Goodreads.)

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

