Home > X Guest Columns X > Valentine… Love is in the air

Valentine… Love is in the air

February 14, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

Personally I think Valentine’s day is just one big commercial rip-off. But still, there is something cute and sweet about it right? And when you read Mitch’s review of The Indigo Spell, you can’t miss the fact that love is in the air. He will persistently deny it [WHAT??? I DO NOT FANGIRL. NO WAY.] but while reading the review I just knew for sure he was looking like this when he was reading the book:


Although, doing some research and reading the definition of fangirling I must confess that I’m a bit worried:
“the reaction a fangirl has to any mention or sighting of the object of her “affection”. These reactions include shortness of breath, fainting, highpitched noises, shaking, fierce head shaking as if in the midst of a seizure, wet panties, endless blog posts, etc”

I can live with the fainting, highpitched noises, hell even the seizure, but I really hope we can scratch the wet panties…


Anyways, just to prove my point, I’m going to make a little comparison. This is Mitch NOT liking a book:

”There were actually tears in my eyes after I finished this, and not because Revolution 19 is particularly emotional or poignant. Nope, I couldn’t stop laughing at how awful this train wreck is”

Or:

“Obviously, there’s a lot I could talk about, like say, the complete lack of a plot in the first eighteen chapters, but I am so frustrated by how much I dislike Onyx that I have nothing nice to say, so I think I’m not going to say anything at all”

(this does follow a rant about how awful the book is btw)
And of course, #5 of worst books of 2012:

”Ugh. Here I was thinking, hey, Heaven can’t be so bad if I read it as a parody, right? Right? *Crickets* Who am I kidding, it’s still terrible. The only thing that’s remotely amazing is how I’ve now managed to finish this series even though I couldn’t get past chapter four of the eye gouging turd that was Fallen, but that’s neither here nor there. Only means this book isn’t the biggest pile of crap, but it’s still a pile of crap.”


Now, reading the review of The Indigo Spell, it’s obvious Mitch digs Mead’s books, the Bloodlines series in particular.

“I really mean it when I said in my review of The Golden Lily that Mead’s proven herself again and again and earned my trust because hers are books that just keep getting better and better.”

Nothing wrong with that of course. But it is important to know how difficult this very critical reader is to satisfy. And in general Mead succeeds in doing that. I think he even squealed [enter highpitched noises] at this part :

“especially in a particular scene in which the title of the next book is mentioned (yes the words ‘fiery heart’ appear in this!!)”

Lol imagine that!! A reference to the next book 😉 Who dares to say he is not easy to please?


And while it’s obvious he just can’t wait to read the sequel
[enter shaking]

“I’m still going to rush out (er go online) and preorder The Fiery Heart though because Mead absolutely knows exactly which buttons to press and which characters to introduce to leave me hanging and anxious to know what’ll happen next”

it’s not just the books and the whole storyline that are the source of his fangirlingboying. Cause plot alone isn’t everything…

“they certainly are the gold standard of the paranormal genre simply because Mead’s mastered the formula for writing the perfect balance of character and plot.”


Actually, one of the main reasons for Mitch’s swooning about these books is the richness of the characters presence of Sydney. This became already clear in his review of The Golden Lily:

”Absolutely love Sydney – she didn’t really make that much of an impression on me in the Vampire Academy sequels, but now I have a stupid grin plastered on my face while I’m working my way through her quirky narration. Yeah, she’s naive and sheltered, but in a way that’s cute and fun. Plus, she’s serious and responsible, totally different from the glut of sassy action girl heroines we have now.”

[enter shortness of breath]

Ow yeah. Our Mitch has his own fictional crush 😉 (don’t worry Mitch, it happens to the best of us).

“I for one love how Mead writes her character because it’s that combination of earnesty and quirkiness that makes Syndey so cute and fun to read about. But more than that, she’s complex and multifaceted”


And let’s be honest, what girl can deny a love declaration like the following?

” I think I love her a million times more – I certainly respect her a million times more”

[enter a Taylor Swift love song]
This just makes me go “oooh” and “aaah”.

But on a serious note, his praising remarks about Sydney really make me curious

“Sydney’s not the kind of person who second guesses the wisdom of her decisions from an emotional point of view, she’s way too practical for that”

Sweet isn’t it?
And especially this one:

“it’s one of the best lines I’ve ever read because it says everything about Syndey’s character in just two sentences:
In my chest, my own heart was breaking. On my cheek, the lily reminded me who I was.”

Am I the only one who wonders if he cried at the end (and not tears like he had after finishing Revolution 19 but because this book really was ‘particularly emotional or poignant’)?


So yeah, I’m eager to get to know this girl that makes his heart beat faster. Although I think my focus would still go to Adrian 😉 Hey, I’m a girl after all. Not that I would ever fangirl though… *ahum*


And Mitch, if there’s steam coming out of your ears after reading this:

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Categories: X Guest Columns X
  1. Navs
    February 14, 2013 at 8:19 am

    LMAO!! I think I love you Lis. This was wonderful! Mitch, one of those guys who hardly ever appreciates female leads is swooning..err..falling face first as he likes to call it, over a fictional character! Unbelievable!!

    Eeek.. no wet panty imagination please!!!

    • Lis
      February 14, 2013 at 9:43 am

      Lol I think there’s a chance I’m gonna get the silent treatment for a few days but I’m glad u liked it 🙂

      Gonna leave the wetty pants to your imagination … 😉 hehe

  2. Nyx
    February 14, 2013 at 10:23 am

    Omg, that was too funny. Great post Lis! xD

  3. deniz
    February 14, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    lol! i think i like V day this year.
    thanks lis you made my day
    xx

  4. February 14, 2013 at 3:41 pm

    I think this made my day. I had tears at the end of this because I was laughing so hard.

    • Lis
      February 14, 2013 at 4:54 pm

      lol i feel kinda bad now though .. 🙂

    • February 15, 2013 at 3:53 am

      lol imo a good reviewer should be able to take criticism just like the authors we critique

      yeah it’s a lonely existence being a guy and fan of Sydney among all yall Adrian fangirls

      • Lis
        February 15, 2013 at 4:03 am

        Lol complementing yourself huh? :p

        The fact you can take it, proves you’re a real man! Hehe
        And hey, you didn’t even deny the Sydney crush 😉

  5. Lexie
    February 17, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    I love this post. 😀 I only see it now. Hehehe. Good Job Lis! 🙂

  6. Butterfly
    February 25, 2013 at 3:04 am

    WOW!! Mitch…just wow!! I wanna be admired like that too, ya know. I at least exist!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

