Home > Katy's Korner > Dualed by Elsie Chapman

Dualed by Elsie Chapman

February 22, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments
Dualedby Elsie Chapman

Dualed
by Elsie Chapman

Dualed (Dualed 1)

By: Elsie Chapman

Release Date: February 26, 2013

Rating: 2.5 stars

Summary: You or your Alt? Only one will survive.

The city of Kersh is a safe haven, but the price of safety is high. Everyone has a genetic Alternate—a twin raised by another family—and citizens must prove their worth by eliminating their Alts before their twentieth birthday. Survival means advanced schooling, a good job, marriage—life.

Fifteen-year-old West Grayer has trained as a fighter, preparing for the day when her assignment arrives and she will have one month to hunt down and kill her Alt. But then a tragic misstep shakes West’s confidence. Stricken with grief and guilt, she’s no longer certain that she’s the best version of herself, the version worthy of a future. If she is to have any chance of winning, she must stop running not only from her Alt, but also from love . . . though both have the power to destroy her.

Elsie Chapman’s suspenseful YA debut weaves unexpected romance into a novel full of fast-paced action and thought-provoking philosophy. When the story ends, discussions will begin about this future society where every adult is a murderer and every child knows there is another out there who just might be better.

 

Review: 2.5 stars – I really thought I would love this book. To think somewhere in this world, there’s an alternate version of you that grew up in a different home, had different friends, was a different person and only one of you will survive a showdown. And the first chapter had me hooked with West’s grief over losing her family, her concern for Chord who just received his assignment, their playful banter and the tragedy that just broke my heart.

But that was as far as my loving it went. After that, the book failed to capture my attention, and I had a really hard time focusing on the book. And I’m not sure how to explain it other than it was just eh.

I guess I just didn’t really connect with West. I can understand her pushing Chord away, but I just found myself annoyed with her dramatic antics than doing it for sacrificial reasons. And when she became a striker, I wish I felt more of that desperation to seek a last resort or that feeling she had after her first kill. I wouldn’t say West was a stoic character. I just didn’t think Chapman did a good job showing us her feelings and letting us sympathize with her.

I felt the book had enough action, but it didn’t suck you in, and the showdown with West and her Alt and with Glade just failed to meet my expectations.

I don’t know. The book was good, and I liked it enough, but I just couldn’t get into it as much as I would have liked, and I’m disappointed because I think it had a lot of potential to be great.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

