Home > Katy's Korner > Mila 2.0 by Debra Driz

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driz

NOTE: Read the novella Origins FIRST!!!
It’s only 10 pages long, and it’s available here for free.

 

Mila 2.0by Debra Driz

Mila 2.0
by Debra Driz

MILA 2.0

By: Debra Driza

Release Date: March 12, 2013

Rating: 3 stars

Summary: Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence.Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

Mila 2.0 is Debra Driza’s bold debut and the first book in a Bourne Identity-style trilogy that combines heart-pounding action with a riveting exploration of what it really means to be human. Fans of I Am Number Four will love Mila for who she is and what she longs to be—and a cliffhanger ending will leave them breathlessly awaiting the sequel.

 

Review: I kind of have mixed feelings about this book because it felt like I was reading two different stories. While a good chunk of this book was just filled with the “Bourne Identity-styled” action, I really felt like a lot was missing to make this book great.

First of all, what a weird beginning! I read until Chapter 5, and I had to stop and reread the summary just to make sure I was reading the book I thought I was reading. Apparently, it was. And then, of course, I had my theories on what had happened and was left wondering if I really wanted to read the rest of the book. Honestly, the charade took way too long, and it was too cliche as it bogged readers down with high school drama that really didn’t even matter in the grand scheme of things. By the way, if you have not read the 10-paged prequel, read it first. I made the mistake of reading it after I read this book (three-sentence review).

Then, about a third of the way through, I had my WTF moment, which caused me to be very angry. Mila was exactly right. What a cruel, sick thing to do! I really wanted to give up on the book at that point, but that’s when the action started. I admit, they were some pretty intense scenes that had me flipping through the pages.

Still, I was left with SO many unanswered questions at the end. MAJOR SPOILERS, do not click if you have not read the book. (view spoiler)

I know there is more to come, but at least the first several questions should have been answered in this book.

And I know it’s still early in the series and we’ll see more of him, but I wish we got more out of Hunter. He has potential to be a really swoon-worthy character, but everything that I get from him right now is just surface-deep with the cliche, love-at-first-sight, eyes meet, tunnel vision, support without question type of romance. Maybe MILA is not capable of feeling much more, but isn’t the whole point to show that she can be human?

And MILA herself? I just don’t know how I feel about her. While I can see what she’s going through, and I can sympathize with her every step of the way, she doesn’t show as much character development as I had expected her to. I guess I read way too many books with similar concepts, and I just expected more of an emotional attachment to her. I’m sure she’ll have more character development over the next few books, but hers just wasn’t as dramatic as other in other books, I suppose.

Anyway, I just wish that the beginning didn’t throw me off and took so long before the real story started, and I’m a bit disappointed that I’m left unsatisfied when I finished the book, though I understand there’s more to come. Still, there’s more than enough in this book for me to want to read the sequel.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. March 18, 2013 at 9:36 am

Leave a Reply

