Home > Mitch's Musings > Spring Reading Update

Spring Reading Update

2013 has, unfortunately, been kind of hard on both Katy and my reading schedules, but when RL calls, what to do? That said, I’ve still managed to read some awesome books, so here’s the stuff that made the biggest impressions on me in the first three months of the year:

Favorite Book

Navigating Early
by Clare Vanderpool

Navigating Early by Clare Vanderpool

Release Date: January 8, 2013

My top pick of 2013 (so far) is a middle grade book and I’m not ashamed to admit it in the slightest. Navigating Early is so good I’m absolutely positive it’s going to be a Newbery contender, and for a guy who grew up on Phyllis Reynolds Naylor, Katherine Paterson, and Beverly Cleary, that’s good enough for me.

Review

s

Favorite Sequel

Through the Ever Night
by Veronica Rossi

Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

Release Date: January 8, 2013

I don’t like dystopian. At all. Including the first book, Under the Never Sky. But Through the Ever Night so blew me away with how improved it is over the first book if I were to read a postapocalyptic survival story, this would be the one.

Review

s

Favorite Debut

Starstruck
by Rachel Shukert

Starstruck by Rachel Shukert

Release Date: March 12, 2013

Personally, the best historical fictions are the ones that read like magic even though there’s no magic involved. Starstruck is such a book, Rachel Shukert’s writing just perfectly captures the glamour of the Golden Age of Hollywood and I could just read this for ages.

No review as of yet. Unfortunately.

s

Least Favorite Book

What the Spell?
by Brittany Geragotelis

What the Spell? by Brittany Geragotelis

Release Date: January 29, 2013

My reaction? More like what the f-. I don’t really consider this a book, to be a book you kind of need a beginning, a middle, and an end, and What the Spell? doesn’t even manage that. Do. Not. Read. (Ok, maybe if you have a mirror and want to see your face contorted into all sorts of weird facial expressions.)

No review. Nor will there ever be a review.

s

Most Disappointing Sequel

Timekeeper
by Alexandra Monir

Timekeeper by Alexandra Monir

Release Date: January 8, 2013

Rarely have I loved a first book and felt so apathetic towards a sequel as I do for Timeless and Timekeeper. The first was one heck of a magical time travel piece, the sequel is nothing of the sort. Sigh.

Review

s

Guilty Pleasure

Cinders & Sapphires
by Leila Rasheed

Cinders & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed

Release Date: January 22, 2013

I don’t know what it is about this gossipy mess that I just can’t stop thinking about it. Infectious I tell you!

Review

s

There you have it. What great books have you read?

Categories: Mitch's Musings Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

