Home > Katy's Korner > Katy at the Movies – Beautiful Creatures & Oz

Katy at the Movies – Beautiful Creatures & Oz

Beautiful Creatures

Beautiful Creatures

Since I can’t write about what I thought about THE HOST because someone’s out of town partying, I’ll have to write my waaaaay overdue Beautiful Creatures review. Okay, this review is 1 1/2 months overdue, but I know a lot of people were asking about it, so better late then never, right? My take is if you haven’t seen it yet, just wait for the DVD.

To be honest, I was never crazy about the book to begin with. I mean, the overall story was good, but for some reason, I just really struggled with the book – and this was during the time when I liked just about everything I picked up. I’m not sure if it was because it was so long or if it was because it was written in Ethan’s point of view or whatever else the reason could have been, but I really felt that the book dragged, and I just couldn’t get into it. And no, I never picked up the sequel or the one after that.

Having said that, Annaalese, Rhe and I watched it on President’s Day – the Monday following opening weekend, and as we walked out, this is what we had to say about it:

Rhe, who hasn’t read the book, shrugged and said the movie was “okay.” Annaalese, who has read it, said “The movie didn’t follow anything in the book!” Let me tell you, she was pretty upset about the lollipop. So here are our reviews…

Annaalese:

The Beautiful Creatures movie was enjoyable enough if you go in without any expectations if it relating to the book. I know movies can’t always be like the book, but aside from character names and the basic plot, nothing was the same, and the changes seemed silly. I mean, did Ridley really have to eat strawberries when her thing was red lollipops? Of course, I didn’t care much for the book when I read it, so the differences didn’t annoy me like other books turned into movies.

Rhe:

I didn’t read the book, so I was able to watch the movie with an open mind. The movie was very simple, but I appreciated the modern approach on such an antique monster. The love story was central to the plot, but it managed to not overwhelmed the viewer with a soppy teen romance.

Katy:

I don’t really remember the book much, but I felt the movie did move a lot faster. However, I did feel that some of it, especially the interaction between Ethan and Lena was kind of cheesy. I don’t remember thinking that about the book, or it could have been I read it at a time I just about liked everything. Maybe it was the actors themselves and the way they portrayed their roles.

Anyway, I thought Ethan was supposed to be the hot, popular one, and I guess they attempted to make it seem that way since the hot, popular girl was after him, but I don’t know. He was more of the dorky kind of adorable I guess? But then again, his class is not that big to begin with. I had no problems with Lena except I noticed she doesn’t have great posture, and she walked funny. Macon wasn’t exactly what I had expected, but after a little while, I kind of liked it. And Ridley was really hot, especially in that scandalous, black, lacy dress coming out of the red Z4 – a long ways from the girl-next-door-looking character from Shameless.

Overall, the movie’s not bad at all, but I spent the $10 matinee ticket more out of curiosity than to be blown away. I’m surprised they made a movie out of it at all, but my recommendation is to wait until it’s out on DVD.

 

Oz The Great and Powerful

Oz the Great and Powerful

Oz the Great and Powerful

On a side note, Annaalese and I watched Oz two weeks ago, and I ended up liking it. It wasn’t awesome, but it was great or a sit-back-relax-and-enjoy-a-cheesy-movie.

It did start out really slow, for those who have seen it, I meant the black and white part. I thought it was one of those flashbacks that will just take a few minutes, but they ended up dragging it out for a while, and I kept thinking that they needed to move on. As Annaalese have said, when it got to the color, it got good.

James Franco was perfect for the part. He was so cheesy, but rightfully done so. And I did have my doubts about Mila Kunis in the first half or so, but she was awesome afterwards (can’t spoil it). And Zach Braff was hilarious as Finley.

I had expected there to be more singing and dancing, and there may have been only one scene? When Oscar was meeting the people of Oz? I’m not exactly sure, since I was recovering from a hard night. But either way, I liked it.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags: ,
  1. March 30, 2013 at 2:44 pm

    Great reviews! I saw The Host and it wasn’t very good.
    <Scott Reads It

  2. March 30, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    I know! I saw your review on your blog, but I couldn’t figure out the crossover between wordpress and blogspot. 😦 That’s disappointing, but maybe if I go into it with low expectations, I’ll like it. 😛

    Edit: Hmmm… I just tried it again, and I think it may have worked this time. We’ll see.

  3. Lis
    April 1, 2013 at 7:27 am

    what is it with movies lately? i didnt know beautiful creatures was out 😦

    • April 1, 2013 at 10:48 pm

      LOL, it’s not the movies. 😛 Maybe if you quit gaming and peek out from under your rock. 😉

      I also watched GI Joe, but there’s not much I can say about it review-wise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

