Home > Katy's Korner > Life After Theft by Aprilynne Pike

Life After Theft by Aprilynne Pike

Life After Theftby Aprilynne Pike

Life After Theft
by Aprilynne Pike

Life After Theft

By: Aprilynne Pike

Release Date: April 30, 2013

Rating: 2.5 stars

Summary: Moving to a new high school sucks. Especially a rich-kid private school. With uniforms. But nothing is worse than finding out the first girl you meet is dead. And a klepto.

No one can see or hear Kimberlee except Jeff, so–in hopes of bringing an end to the snarkiest haunting in history–he agrees to help her complete her “unfinished business.” But when the enmity between Kimberlee and Jeff’s new crush, Sera, manages to continue posthumously, Jeff wonders if he’s made the right choice.

Clash meets sass in this uproarious modern-day retelling of Baroness Orczy’s The Scarlet Pimpernel

 

Review: I liked this book, but I’m a bit disappointed after reading Pike’s Wings series. I wasn’t expecting more than a cute, fun read, but Life After Theft just felt really ordinary. Maybe it was Sera. Or maybe it was because there were a few things that made me stop and think, “What?”

First of all, it took me a few paragraphs to realize this book was written in a boy’s point of view. Actually, it was when it said, “Hi, my name is Jeff.” I think it was the cover that threw me off, and after rereading the summary, I thought maybe it was one of those books that had boy’s and girl’s point of view. Not like it mattered, but it kind of made me stumble a bit.

Life After Theft wasn’t a book to analyze, and there were a lot of things that I was wondering about. (view spoiler on my Goodreads)

Also, there were a lot of things in the book that just felt unreal. I mean, yeah, we are talking about a paranormal story, but the rest of it. (view spoiler on my Goodreads)

The sad thing was, I wasn’t a big fan of Sera. I think it was the way her character was written, but I didn’t trust her. I kept waiting for her to unveil her big, “Aha! I tricked you! Don’t you feel like a fool?” and hurt Jeff. And I understand she has a past, but her good-goody-two-shoes perfect image kind of annoyed me. I almost could understand why Kimberlee didn’t like her very much. And yeah, Kimberlee was an evil spoiled brat, but I thought she was more interesting. I really do wish that Pike had written it in a dual POV because Kimberlee’s character did show a lot of development.

At the same time, the book was cute with a similar tone to Stacey Kade’s “The Ghost and the Goth” although I felt the that book had more of a “personality” than this one. Still, it was heartwarming and conveyed a good message. So yeah, I still don’t know how to rate this one. And I’m one of those who will give a cute, cliche book 4 or 5 stars if it’s entertainment. It’s just that, there were things with this one that just didn’t sit well enough for me.

Aprilynne Pike has a new book!!! And it’s said to be “Paranormalcy meets Heist Society in this new twist on ghosts from #1 New York Times bestselling author.”

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

