Home > Katy's Korner > The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise

The Boyfriend Appby Katie Sise

The Boyfriend App
by Katie Sise

The Boyfriend App

By: Katie Sise

Release Date: April 30, 2013

Rating: 3 stars

Summary: In The Boyfriend App by Katie Sise, super-smart, somewhat geeky Audrey McCarthy can’t wait to get out of high school. Her father’s death and the transformation of her one-time BFF, Blake Dawkins, into her worst nightmare have her longing for the new start college will bring.

But college takes money. So Audrey decides she has to win the competition for the best app designed by a high schooler—and the $200,000 that comes with it. She develops something she calls the Boyfriend App, and suddenly she’s the talk of the school and getting kissed by the hottest boys around. But can the Boyfriend App bring Audrey true love?

 

Review: This was a cute read, although I did have a few issues with it – primarily that it was a bit too geeky and over-the-top. And there were a few things that were confusing that kind of threw me off course (not on the predictability, but I had to figure out the timeline or consistency).

I wanted to read a fun book that would lighten my mood, and the first few chapters hit me like a ton of bricks. It was way too technical with all the computer/phone language that a lot of it went over my head. I know Sise had to put some of that in there or she would probably get a few criticism about it being unrealistic, but geez, it was so overloaded that I was not only lost but also bored. And then, it got better.

I was a little confused from the summary because I thought the Boyfriend App was going to make Audrey the talk of the school and make hot boys kiss her, and when I found out what the app was, it didn’t really happen like that. But then I realized there was an update, and a lot more made sense.

Well, I can’t really say this book was realistic because it was far from it. And when I say it was over-the-top, I didn’t exactly mean this part. Well, yeah, the whole mean girls picking on the geeks is pretty routine, and the typical triangle between the hot guy and shy friend is overdone. Not to mention a soundwave technology that makes you want something (seriously?), and a button that will make you fall in love (get real!) or the crazy chaotic riots at the school campus and on the Public corporate grounds. But those made the book kind of fun.

What i really meant about the over-the-top (and also the holes) was really the relationship between Audrey and Blake. I really had to stop and think about the timeline on this… (view spoiler on my Goodreads) I guess it was just a little too much for me. I guess pushing the mean girl bullying the geek concept on stupid stuff.

But I guess Audrey’s quirks are what made the book fun, and I liked how adorable Aiden was (I tend to have a soft spot for the dorky best friend). I think Lindsay is a badass cousin, and Nigit and Mindy were okay friends. It’s not unpredictable, but it is an entertaining read if you can get past the geek-talk.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

