Home > Katy's Korner > The Elite (The Selection 2) By Kiera Cass

The Elite (The Selection 2) By Kiera Cass

The Elite (The Selection 2)

The Elite (The Selection 2) By Kiera Cass

The Elite (The Selection 2)
By Kiera Cass

By: Kiera Cass

Release Date: April 23, 2013

Rating: 2 stars

Summary: Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

 

Review: Despite the controversy over the author/publicist, I kinda liked the first book… This one, however, just pissed me off.

1. What happened to America? I miss the strong, determined, self-confident girl she used to be. She cries – a lot! I understand insecurities can make you second-guess yourself, but damnit, she was so freaking wishy-washy. I want Maxon. No, I want Aspen. I want to leave. No, I need to stay. I won’t make a good queen. Actually, I could make a different. Oh wait, I just did something stupid. Speaking of stupid, America’s irrationality was a bit too much. I know her heart, though she won’t admit it, is now at stake, but she pulled herself together after Aspen. Sometimes strong emotions can get the best of us, but I had expected so much more from her. One or two things, fine. But she made me so mad throughout the entire book.

2. What happened to the plot? The first book was more about the competition and the gradual elimination process. In this book, the first elimination was a given that you could guessed way ahead of time from book 1. The only other one was just more a default kind thrown in there – you’re staying so let’s get rid of her instead. I wasn’t drawn to the individual missions or tasks they had to do because contestants weren’t eliminated as a result of how well they did.

3. I found it interesting that this book takes place in the future (after the fourth world war, right?), and Cass throws out concepts that are well-established in our society to give the girls individuality – like equal rights, or a drafted military, or even better yet, women in the military. I understand that a lot has changed, and some of that means going backwards in politics, but I just found the attempts annoying, especially since they were just tossed in there, glimpsed over and then left to flounder. Come on! Throw in some originality or just leave those comments out. By the way, did you know there’s a sort-of revolution going on? North rebels? South rebels? Huh? Oh, I was too focused on being pissed off at America.

The only reason I did not give this book 1 star is because I actually liked the end. (view spoiler on my Goodreads)

I’ll read book 3 because it’s the last book, but I really hope this was just a “middle book” or I will be so disappointed with this series.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. April 27, 2013 at 12:12 pm

    I had to DNF this one. I got about 50 pages in and just couldn’t tolerate it. Maybe ill skip to the end and read the last bit. Pretty confident ill not be reading the last book in the series.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

