Home > Mitch's Musings > If I should Die by Amy Plum

If I should Die by Amy Plum

If I Should Die by Amy Plum

If I Should Die (Die for Me 3)

By: Amy Plum

Release Date: May 7, 2013

Rating: 3 Stars

Summary: I will not lose another person I love. I will not let history repeat itself.Vincent waited lifetimes to find me, but in an instant our future together was shattered. He was betrayed by someone we both called a friend, and I lost him. Now our enemy is determined to rule over France’s immortals, and willing to wage a war to get what they want.

It shouldn’t be possible, none of it should be, but this is my reality. I know Vincent is somewhere out there, I know he’s not completely gone, and I will do anything to save him.

After what we’ve already fought to achieve, a life without Vincent is unimaginable. He once swore to avoid dying—to go against his nature and forsake sacrificing himself for others—so that we could be together. How can I not risk everything to bring my love back to me?



Review:

Reviewer’s Note: For those of you new to the party, Revenantsis a series near and dear to a certain heart around these here parts. Just not mine. As I explained in my review of Until I Die:

I was intrigued by all the five star reviews of Die for Me, so I decided to investigate, by asking the one person I know who’d rush out to get Until I Dieand devour it in a couple of hours even though it usually takes her a month to finish anything, my little sis, who I’ll refer to as Amy Plum’s Number One Fan (APNOF) and occasionally Insane Amy Plum Fan (IAPF). She also wanted me to give this one five stars, but I refused.

Moving on, apparently If I Should Die is yet another five star book (obviously from my rating, I disagree), although once again the reasons are… baffling to say the least. Let’s see…

Me: So. If I Should Die. Any good?

APNOF: *gives the are you insane look* If I Should Die is definitely the best of the series! If Amy Plum should happen to read this review, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE write another book or at the very least write a spin off!!

Me: Ok…

APNOF: You know what I mean. There are so many unanswered questions! Like how can Numa become Bardia? Is there more purpose to the Champion than simply defeating Violette? I mean like the Champion is supposed to bring about the New Age and what not, so what other kinds of battles must the Champion face? There are so many more things that the reader is left dying to know (no pun intended). A few new characters were introduced into this book (*cough*Louis). Their characters were briefly touched upon and I would love to know more about their past and more importantly their future. Louis is supposedly a ‘good’ Numa who would rather die than continue being evil, but leave it to Amy Plum to leaves us wondering what happens to him!

Me: *desperately stifles the urge to roll on the floor laughing because Louis is the same age as IAPF so you can put two and two together*

APNOF: *apparently oblivious* … and might I mention a potential romance between Arthur and Georgia? Really, I’m not kidding when I say that I HAVE to know what happens with all that.

Me: Let’s stick to this book. What did you like about If I Should Die?

APNOF: I fell in love with this series since book one and now that it’s over, it’s like a sudden shock. After Until I Die, I was so worried about Vincent as I’m sure everyone was, but let me tell you it will all be ok and the ending is such an OMG moment because when you reach the end, you finally realize that this is the end and you finally understand everything that has happened and it cumulates into a perfect ending with lots of unanswered questions.

Me: Woah woah woah! Spoilers! Ok. Perfect ending. Lots of unanswered questions. Oxymoron.
Once again, the rest of this conversation contains massive spoilers. Rather than hiding things discriminately with spoiler tags, I’ve left them unmarked. You’ve been warned.

APNOF: *shoots death glare while intentionally avoiding the question* The book starts out where the last one ended. Vincent is visiting Kate while he is volant after his body was taken by Violette. He knows that it is too late for the other revenants to come to his rescue so he tells Kate that he wants to spend his last moments with her. D’awww moment right there.

Me: What the heck is a d’awww moment?
Side Note: I think I threw up a little in my mouth while reading that scene.

APNOF: Hush dummy. Where was I? It was so romantic!

Me: Uh huh. *quickly changes the subject having learned my lesson from that awkward line of questioning about Vincent in the last review* What did you think about Kate?

APNOF: Isn’t she amazing? When everyone jumps into action, but of course they ask Kate to sit out, but, we all know that this is Kate and she won’t hear of it. No wonder Vincent likes her!

Me: …
At this point IAPF wanders off and starts whispering ‘so good’ to herself over and over while fantasizing over a potential sequel. At least I think that’s what she’s doing…

Honestly, I have no clue why I give these books the ratings I do. They’re nauseatingly romantic, and I don’t do nauseatingly romantic. Like at all. Yet, for all their faults, I can’t bring myself to fault Kate and Vincent. I wonder why…


Go to Mitch’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Mitch's Musings Tags:
  1. May 13, 2013 at 10:18 pm

    Dear Mitch’s Sister,
    Remember how you called me “an incompetent dummy who has no appreciation in love” for the last book? I’m sorry. I just can’t.
    Sincerely,
    Given Up on The Revenants

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

