Home > Katy's Korner > The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller

The Summber I Became a Nerd
by Leah Rae Miller

The Summer I Became a Nerd

By: Leah Rae Miller

Release Date: May 7, 2013

Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary: On the outside, seventeen-year-old Madelyne Summers looks like your typical blond cheerleader—perky, popular, and dating the star quarterback. But inside, Maddie spends more time agonizing over what will happen in the next issue of her favorite comic book than planning pep rallies with her squad. That she’s a nerd hiding in a popular girl’s body isn’t just unknown, it’s anti-known. And she needs to keep it that way.

Summer is the only time Maddie lets her real self out to play, but when she slips up and the adorkable guy behind the local comic shop’s counter uncovers her secret, she’s busted. Before she can shake a pom-pom, Maddie’s whisked into Logan’s world of comic conventions, live-action role-playing, and first-person-shooter video games. And she loves it. But the more she denies who she really is, the deeper her lies become…and the more she risks losing Logan forever.




Review:

3.5 stars – I thought this book was really cute. And then, it got a bit too nerdy for me.

This book was totally cliche, but I have to give Miller props for taking a more creative route to it. Instead of just your typical popular cheerleader falling for the nerd, Miller added some flair to it by giving the comics a storyline and actually creating a role-playing game of her own.

I really liked how the prologue gave us a little background on Maddie’s history and how she came to be who she is. Again, cliche but adorably cute. I also like that she was living this double life, and not just becoming the popular cheerleader and totally forgetting about who she really is. And I liked that she has always had a crush on Logan, not the typical – he’s nerdy, I can’t be seen with him, I’m forced to hang out with him, hey he’s actually a pretty good guy, oh I’m falling for him – storyline.

I really digged the whole comics thing, and that Maddie was interested in dressing up for role-playing games. But that’s kind of where my interests fell a bit when I said it got a bit too nerdy for me. Honestly, I didn’t really get the concept of the LARP. I mean, I was picturing a whole Lord of the Rings and Final Fantasy twist to the Game of Thrones mystery and crime, and the fight scenes were cool enough, but I didn’t really get the point of it all. And the dice too.

Oh well, I think I liked it enough. It didn’t have some totally awesome lines that made me squeal, but it was a feel-good read, and I do have to give Miller some brownie points for the way she went about the story.

Previously: I need a dose of straight of fluff.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

