Home > Katy's Korner > Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2) by Katie McGarry

Dare You To (Pushing the Limits #2) by Katie McGarry

Dare You Toby Katie McGarry

Dare You To
by Katie McGarry

Dare You To (Pushing the Limits 2)

By: Katie McGarry

Release Date: May 28, 2013

Rating: 4.5 stars

Summary: “I dare you…”

If anyone knew the truth about Beth Risk’s home life, they’d send her mother to jail and seventeen-year-old Beth who knows where. So she protects her mom at all costs. Until the day her uncle swoops in and forces Beth to choose between her mom’s freedom and her own happiness. That’s how Beth finds herself living with an aunt who doesn’t want her and going to a school that doesn’t understand her. At all. Except for the one guy who shouldn’t get her, but does….

Ryan Stone is the town golden boy, a popular baseball star jock-with secrets he can’t tell anyone. Not even the friends he shares everything with, including the constant dares to do crazy things. The craziest? Asking out the Skater girl who couldn’t be less interested in him.

But what begins as a dare becomes an intense attraction neither Ryan nor Beth expected. Suddenly, the boy with the flawless image risks his dreams-and his life-for the girl he loves, and the girl who won’t let anyone get too close is daring herself to want it all….

 

Review: I had to knock a half-star because Beth really frustrated me.

When I read the summary, I thought, “Oh no, it’s going to be one of those books where the guy is dared to ask the girl out, they fall for each other, and she’ll find out.” But then, I really liked “Pushing the Limits,” so I thought why not. Turns out, that wasn’t what the story was about – at all!

I admit, I read the first few chapters and then set the book aside for a few days. I like sassy characters, but Beth was just downright bitchy. But she actually grew on me surprisingly fast – not because her situation gave reason for her attitude, but because she was a much deeper person than that.

What won me over was her insistence on helping her mother. (It was also the reason why I knocked off a half star because she blindness frustrated me beyond words. I just wanted to shake her and yell, “Wake up!”) However, it also gave her an edge over other characters written like her. Yes, she has a terrible life, and she took it out on the world. But her selflessness, her determination and her devotion to her mother was very admirable, even when her mother had let her down so, so many times.

I really liked the analogy of the bird trapped in the barn. To me, it meant so much. And the bottle of rain? I admit, I squeed a bit there. How utterly romantic. Call it cheesy if you want, but I was so caught up in the story that it just really moved me.

Ryan wasn’t too far off from your typical golden boy with problems at home. Maybe McGarry overdid it a little bit with all his problems – the brother, his father’s expectations, political campaigns, his mother’s social groups, everything else – but I didn’t mind it so much in this book. Ryan was just an overall likable guy.

And the book had some really great lines. The bickering had me smile a few times. Their exchanges made me squee every now and then. And yes, I shed a few tears – don’t worry, I wasn’t bawling, but yeah, moving on.

While I’m gushing. I really like Scott. I admire him for what he had to go through, especially when he was so young when Beth was born. And it’s inspiring to see that he got out. And I felt for him and how he tried so hard with her. And with everything that he knew, it must have been hard to try to keep it to himself to protect her – especially when you have a wife that is not so supportive of the situation. Sometimes you have to take care of your immediate family first, but when someone like a niece desperately needs your help, you could just easily turn away. I think it was awfully big of him to take on such a responsibility. My only complaint is that I wish I saw more from Allison – it was just a big leap from hating her so much to the last scene.

Overall, I really liked the book. I was emotionally invested in the characters, and yes, it was predictable, but it was very much enjoyable. McGarry hasn’t done me wrong yet, and I can’t wait for the next book. For Isaiah fans, I wouldn’t be surprised if the next book is about him.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

