Home > Katy's Korner > Faking It (Losing It #2) by Cora Cormack

Faking It (Losing It #2) by Cora Cormack

Faking It by Cora Cormack

Faking It
by Cora Cormack

Faking It (Losing It 2)

By: Cora Cormack

Release Date: June 4, 2013

Rating: 3.5 stars

Summary: Mackenzie “Max” Miller has a problem. Her parents have arrived in town for a surprise visit, and if they see her dyed hair, tattoos, and piercings, they just might disown her. Even worse, they’re expecting to meet a nice, wholesome boyfriend, not a guy named Mace who has a neck tattoo and plays in a band. All her lies are about to come crashing down around her, but then she meets Cade.Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and to leave his problems behind in Texas. So far though, he’s kept the problems and had very little opportunity to take the stage. When Max approaches him in a coffee shop with a crazy request to pretend to be her boyfriend, he agrees to play the part. But when Cade plays the role a little too well, they’re forced to keep the ruse going. And the more they fake the relationship, the more real it begins to feel.

 

Review: I. Love. Cade. And I was so excited to learn that there was going to be a book about him. Having said that, I didn’t like this book nearly as much as the first one.

But WHY, Katy?!? How can you say such a blasphemous thing about a book about Cade?!?

Don’t get me wrong, it was cute, and I enjoyed some if it very much. Cade was just perfect in just about every way. He was sweet. He was charming. He was witty. And he was heartbroken in a way that made you want to be the one who made it all better.

But I was disappointed that Carmack made this book too cliche. The book had your typical perfect character, and your typical “wrong” character, and the frustrating tension and drama that goes along with the “I can’t be with you because we’re too different, and I’m not good enough for you.”

The book started off really strong with a feisty, no-nonsense Max who gave Cade a good run for his money. But then, you find out what a coward she really is. I mean, I understand what she’s going through. I really do. My parents were strict and very hard on having me become the person they want to be. And I would understand if she it was about her being who she really is (like they knew how she changed when she went off to college) and just getting her parents to accept her for who she is, and I understanding taming the rebellion down a little when you come home for a visit, but to see her going from that character to such an extreme opposite and realize what she has been hiding, it was just a little disappointing.

And with how she treated Cade? Oh, come on. With “Losing It,” there were a lot of reasons why Bliss and Garrick couldn’t be together (view spoiler on my Goodreads) With this one, she didn’t have a good reason. (view spoiler on my Goodreads) That is why I was ready to yell at her for being such a stupid girl.

Setting that aside, I did enjoy the book. I really thought the way they met was pretty cute, and I had to smile at the flirting and taunting that they threw at each other. There were some really good lines, great moments and electric chemistry.

Overall, it’s a pretty good read. I was just disappointed Carmack chose the cliche good character/bad character route, and that Max was an inconsistent character that frustrated me at times.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:

Leave a Reply

