Home > Katy's Korner > OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu

OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu

OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu

OCD Love Story
by Corey Ann Haydu

OCD Love Story

By: Corey Ann Haydu

Release Date: July 23, 2013

Rating: 3 stars

Summary: When Bea meets Beck, she knows instantly that he’s her kind of crazy. Sweet, strong, kinda-messed-up Beck understands her like no one else can. He makes her feel almost normal. He makes her feel like she could fall in love again.
But despite her feelings for Beck, Bea can’t stop thinking about someone else: a guy who is gorgeous and magnetic… and has no idea Bea even exists. But Bea knows a ton about him. She spends a lot of time watching him. She has a journal full of notes. Some might even say she’s obsessed.
Bea tells herself she’s got it all under control, but this isn’t a choice, it’s a compulsion. The truth is, she’s breaking down… and she might end up breaking her own heart.

 

Review: SO messed up…

I wouldn’t be honest if I said that I liked this book because quite frankly, I was a bit disturbed. But I think the book accomplished what Haydu had intended, or at least I think it was what she had intended, and for that, I have to give her props.

I was looking for a cute, fun read that this was definitely NOT that. It forced me into a very serious topic in a not very pleasant light. I often joke that I’m border-line OCD because I’m pretty anal about certain things or particular about evening or balancing things, and I know this book focused on extreme cases, but I was willing to take a peek.

Let’s admit it, Bea is kind of a scary person – (view spoiler) is kind of creepy, and it would probably freak you out if that was happening to you – someone you know, let alone a stranger. I liked that she wasn’t your typical case of what you would consider OCD, but I was curious where Haydu was going with it. And in a way, it was morbidly interesting – maybe not mobid, but how you can’t help but stare at an accident or someone who is mentally challenged.

But I was interested by the different cases that were presented in the therapy session, although I do think that an obsession with washing your hands/body and an obsession with constantly working out is a weird combination – only because you get sweaty and dirty when you work out so it seems like it’s a never ending cycle, just an odd combination in one person.

And it was interesting to see what triggered their OCD and how they got over it. HOWEVER, I did not like the fact that in the cases in this book, namely Bea and Beck, that it was a phase in their life. Some people pick up these habits early on in life, and it wasn’t some dramatic event in their lives that triggered it. And yes, I do think medicine and therapy can help you deal with it, but I don’t it’s something that you can just overcome. And I don’t want to make the assumption that Bea and Beck are completely cured by the end of the book, but everything is tied too neatly at the end.

But like I said, I do have to give Haydu props for having the guts to write a book like this. I wouldn’t say I was sucked in, and it was more of curiosity than deep intrigued that kept me going – because I did feel that the book was a long read. But I do think that it was interesting to read, and it did mess with my head. I’m curious to know if this was based on a real story or a fictionalized version of real cases or if it was something Haydu totally made up and how much of this could really happen.

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:

Leave a Reply

