Home > Katy's Korner > Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2) by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight
by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

By: Sarah J. Maas

Release Date: August 27, 2013

Rating: 3 stars

Summary: An assassin’s loyalties are always in doubt.
But her heart never wavers.After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king’s contest to become the new royal assassin. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown – a secret she hides from even her most intimate confidantes.

Keeping up the deadly charade—while pretending to do the king’s bidding—will test her in frightening new ways, especially when she’s given a task that could jeopardize everything she’s come to care for. And there are far more dangerous forces gathering on the horizon — forces that threaten to destroy her entire world, and will surely force Celaena to make a choice.

Where do the assassin’s loyalties lie, and who is she most willing to fight for?

 

Review: I LOVED Throne of Glass. I can’t believe I’m saying this, but with this one, not so much. TOG fan, please don’t kill me.

Celaena was so kick-ass in the first book, and I admired her for the strength she had to find in herself to overcome all of the challenges. I was really caught up with the games – both in the arena and in the palace. (I know the Hunger Games concept is now overplayed, but TOG came first before it was republished, and when I read the repub ARC in April 2012, it wasn’t too overdone in YA just yet.) And while the love triangle was there, I felt it was more of a side story, even though I loved Chaol.

But with this book, I felt Celaena grew soft. I’m not talking about what was happening with her missions assigned by the king. I’m talking about her stubbornness and cowardliness for not standing up for what’s right, or her slowness at seeing what’s right in front of her, and my God, the stupid love triangle (yes, it bugged the hell out of me in this book).

First of all, I felt that the “romance” took up way too much of the first part of the book – to where I was getting annoyed because I felt the actual book was the side story and the love triangle was on the main stage. I felt her relationship with both Chaol and Dorian was really awkward, especially with how Maas kept alluding to her fling or whatever it was with Dorian. Andwhat was up with all the testosterone?!? It seemed like every man wanted her and displayed jealousy or possessiveness of her affections. Ugh! It was much more tolerable about halfway through when she realized what she wanted, or didn’t.

As for the plot itself, I liked it enough, but the book kind of took a different direction from the first. Well yeah, I understand there would be no killing contest now that the king has a champion, but it became more of the politics behind the kingdom. I was taken aback at first because we’re thrown into a world of magic, and fae, and witches, and ghosts, and what? Hold on, slow down a little so my head can catch up to the new development in this series.

Don’t get me wrong, I liked the story. I do think on one hand thatmany will like this one more because Celaena is caught up in this whole different game – one more dangerous than the first because of the role she is playing. It was interesting to learn about everyone’s background, although it didn’t take you long to figure out about Celaena’s – which I thought happened WAY before the “surprise” at the end. Chaol and Dorian were good characters when they weren’t blinded by being jealous of each other. And the plot behind the king’s powers and the brewing rebellion was interesting, and Maas threw in enough twists and turns to keep readers engaged, although none of it was unpredictable.

Overall, it was a pretty good read (when I wasn’t bashing my head against the wall over the romance). Still, I just found that it didn’t suck me in like the first book did. I think part of it was that it became your typical fantasy. So like I said, good, but nothing special because it follows the basic plot and path every other fantasy book does. Either way, it’s still a good read, and I still want to know what happens next. I will add though, to those who finished the book yelling, “Oh my God!” I just have to say, how did you not see that coming?

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

Categories: Katy's Korner Tags:
  1. August 16, 2013 at 11:01 am

    Aw, sorry this one didn’t work out for you as well as you would have hoped. I personally enjoyed it more than ToG and I enjoyed the romance and twists and turns. I felt that it was a stronger book overall. I am very curious (and excited) about where the 3rd book will take us.

    My Friends Are Fiction

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

