Home > Katy's Korner, X Authors and Book Tours X > The Host, The Movie – In Theaters Friday, March 29 (with Trailers)

The Host, The Movie – In Theaters Friday, March 29 (with Trailers)

Well, 2013 has proven to be insanely busy, which  is quite taxing to my reading schedule, up-to-date reviews (if any) and this blog. But one of the biggest book-into-movie is coming next week, and I knew I just had to post something for those who have been living under a deeper, more isolated, out in the boonies rock, even more so than I have (ahem, Lis). Although, Goodreads has been very active about displaying the movie’s ad on the top right hand corner of the pages on its website.

There’s going to be a movie?!?

Annaalese and Rhe have been telling me I have to read the book before the movie comes out so we can go see it, so on March 11, I finally posted this on my GR:

I read the four Twilight books in a weekend when the first movie came out. It’s only taken me five years, but I have to read this before the movie comes out.

Some responded by saying they needed to, too. But I woke up with this response from this person – who shall remain nameless, ahem, Lis.

THERE IS GOING TO BE A MOVIE?!!!!!

And then…

The movie is coming out THIS month?! :0

And then…

Wait We already know the actors?!

And then…

Are there any cuties in it?? :p

 

So yes, there IS going to be a movie…

LOL, so yes, there IS going to be a movie, and it is coming out next week – Friday, March 29 to be exact.

It will star Saoirse Ronan as Melanie and Wanda, Max Irons as Jared, Jake Abel as Ian, as well as Diane Kruger as Wanda’s Seeker and Lacey.

And yes, I did finish the book. It was super long, but I finished it in two nights. Speaking of, I still need to write the review for that, huh? I guess overall, I would say this:

I really wish I had read this book when it came out five years ago because I would have easily given it 10 stars. I liked the concept – but then again, I’m a huge dystopian fan – and the overall story was pretty great.

However, since I started reading and review books, I have come to realize that I used to love just about every book I picked up, and I have become more analytical in processing a book and more difficult to please. I was telling Mitch last night that I miss the days of just picking up a book and enjoying the story without overthinking. I guess he’s rubbed off on me. >_<

Having said that, I felt the book was way too long, and there were parts that really dragged. And I felt the end was too conveniently packaged. (See my Goodreads review for the spoiler.) Everything ended way too perfectly. But I’m also glad that it wasn’t dragged out to a sequel and really admired Meyer for making it a standalone, which is very rare these days.

Still, I really liked the story, and I liked both Melanie and Wanda, as well as both Jared and Ian. My favorite characters, of course, were Jeb and James. I ended up giving the book 4 stars, but I’m going to keep the review short and simple, which is what I would have done if I had read it when it came out, though I probably would have given it a higher rating.

So yes, I’m excited that the movie is coming out, although I’m not sure I’ll be able to watch it opening weekend. >_< Gah! Real life sucks sometimes. Either way, I’ll be watching it soon and hopefully will be giving you my thoughts sometime this decade. 😛

Go to Katy’s review on Goodreads.

 
Movie Trailers!!!

 

  1. Lis
    March 23, 2013 at 11:57 am

    ok i hate you
    lol
    poophead

  2. Katy
    March 23, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    LOL, no you don’t… I’m like the emoji poophead. It’s cute, and it’s smiling!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment